A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:04 am
Visit Hilti

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

Post subject: tool advice please....
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:07 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi hope you are all well.

I'm looking to buy a few tools. my old mitre saw is just rubbish now and it needs replacing.

i also need a dust extractor for sanding and mitre-ing inside the house.

i would probably like a stand for my mitre saw but i do have a big workshop that already has a 4m bench in it, i could mount it on that but will probably want to bring this mitre saw inside the house if i can get good dust extraction.

so, look, yes, i'm probably all the gear and no idea, but i'm learning, i love building things, and i dont want crap kit.

ive got a decent budget, its flexible, i don't like wasting money, but am prepared to pay for quality kit. i dont do woodwork for a living, but ive got an old house and am doing more and more tasks - ive just finished building a double width bunk bed with 8 x 2's and a safety barrier and stairs and the limitations of my crap 15 year old SIP mitre saw have really annoyed me...its built now but everytime i look at some of the supposed 90 degree cuts it irritates me! i may even take on building some of a rear kitchen diner extension soon - get a shell built and do the rest myself.

i'd rather spend a bit more and buy a decent tool that will last and do a fantastic job than buy something cheaper, BUT i dont want to blow loads of cash needlessly on something because of the brand.

i currently have a load of dewalt xr lion kit, which i love (saw, impact driver, drivers, angle grinder, jigsaw)

i bought a festool tracksaw a few years ago and it is amazing...but, how much better it is than the nearest rival would have been i will never know, ive never had a tracksaw before....and i know that the festool was nearly twice as expensive than say the makita i was looking at.