DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:09 am
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:12 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi, I am a complete novice at DIY and just moved into my first house. I was attempting to put up some coat hooks and used the wrong wall plugs which pulled out.The result being two holes in the plasterboard too big to plug so need to be filled. Any advice would be massively appreciated as to what product to use and how to go about it. There is a cavity behind the hole so nothing to back the hole if that makes sense. Thanks in advance

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:14 pm 
UHM Super Moderator

:welcomeuhm:

I'll move this from welcome to general.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:47 pm 
Newly registered Member

Brilliant, thank you

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:34 pm 

What you essentially have is a 'dab & dot' (or is it 'dot & dab') finish? Essentially, to understand what you are dealing with, is that 'splotches' of Plaster Adhesive are thrown against the internal blockwork and the plasterboard is then affixed to that layer through adhesion. Obviously, levelled and plumbed as the finish continues.

Therefore, you have two alternatives. One being to drill into the blockwork and use plugs that are pushed into that orifice, and then longer screws, or

Use the plastic fixings that have a coarse thread that 'screws' into the plasterboard. I can't find a link or name for them but, from memory, they needed an 8mm pilot hole (which should more than compensate for any existing damage). They often come with their own 'driver'. A flat blade with a 'hex' end to fit a drill.