DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:30 pm
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:28 pm 

Hi all,

Im a workshop Bench Joiner by trade, but as i am also self employed i also do work for general public in their houses like fitting doors and frames and general 2nd fix joinery.

Over the next few weeks i am going to be buying a few power tools like makita 10" mitre saw, laminate trimmer, routers, jigsaw etc.
my question is do they need to be 110v for working in general public houses?

your thoughts will be greatly appreciated

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:42 pm 

It's not a legal requirement anywhere.

The problem with site work where you do need to have 110 volt tools is that they are only insured for you to use 110 volt and therefore they insist on it.

If you are working on your own on private house you can do whatever you like - and many small builders/contractors do.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:52 pm 

At least if you have 110 you can use it in both environments so it's a no-brained.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:20 am 

:withstupid:

Agreed. Even if you go to work on small shops these days, if the building is owned by a larger property developer you can find that they require you to have either 110 volt or cordless. Same can apply to houses owned by housing associations and HATs. Makes 110 volt a bit of a no-brainer as far as I'm concerned as well

OK, I'm an "old school" chippie, so please don't ask me to do a bodge job - I didn't bring my horse today and in any case you don't seem to have a hitching rail!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:34 am