Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu May 23, 2019 12:00 am

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

Post subject: Thermostat advice
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:59 am 
Newly registered Member

Hi folks, I am a novice, could somebody please offer me some advice on the following.

I recently had my 25 year-old G rated boiler swapped out for a new Ideal Logic 35KW C Combi. It seems to be working well except I am having real problems with the temperature control. I have got a wireless "CENTER EHE0200361 RF Programmable Room Thermostat" which I have tried in several rooms in the house.

If I leave the boiler temperature set to Eco (around 68 deg) then the house very seldom reaches the target temp of 21 deg. If I turn the boiler up to full (around 80 deg) then is reaches the target at around midday. The real problem is that once it switches off then it stays off for up to 2 hours until the temp drops by a couple of degrees, by then the rads are all cold and the house is cold. The only way I can regulate it is to operate the thermostat manually.

The engineer has changed the thermostat and the wireless connection is showing as excellent.

All the settings are factory default.

We are considering fitting a wired thermostat (as my old my old one always worked well) but I have looked at the specs and it seem to me that wired would work in exactly the same way as wireless.

I would really appreciate some advice.

Thanks,

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
 Post subject: Re: Thermostat advice
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:38 pm 

Some modern stats have a hysteresis, you may need to adjust this setting.