DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:38 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: telephone socket wiring
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Kent
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 4 times
i have a NTE5 master telephone socket which i want to replace. The NTE5 has only 2 wires,white and orange,connected,with 2 other wires,green and black, inside the box but not connected. The new socket has 6 terminals but having connected the wires according to the instructions. GREEN-1 BLACK-2 ORANGE-3 WHITE-4 it doesn't work. Ther are also 2 yellow wires which have been cut short outside of the original box. Any idea what i've done wrong ?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:30 pm 
Offline
Deceased 07-06-2012 R.I.P
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:30 pm
Posts: 4989
Location: A Yorky in Lancashire
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Quote:
Any idea what i've done wrong ?


To start with, removing a BT NTE5 Master Socket is a NO NO.

It is BT property and if anything goes wrong with your phone line BT will charge you an arm and a leg to fix it as you are not allowed to touch the back of those sockets.

Having got that out of the way,

What are you wanting to put in it's place?
Why are you wantiing to replace it?

First thing to do is connect the NTE5 back as it was with the orange and white wires back onto the terminals A and B.

The idea of a NTE5 is that you can remove the lower front panel and:
a) use the socket behind it as a direct test socket to check that any problem is either on thye BT line to the exchange or on your own extension wiring.
b) access those six push terminals to wire in any extensions that you may have.

Scroll down here to see how the BT socket works:
http://www.wppltd.demon.co.uk/WPP/Wirin ... phone.html

Answer the questions (above) and we can probably advise you on the best way around the situation, but you should not remove the wiring from the BT box.

By the way Welcome to the Forums. :wink:

I am going to ask the Mods to move this to Communications, under the Computer Forum.

dave

_________________
You can always tell a Yorkshireman,
But you cannot tell him much.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO