DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:50 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:12 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Can I change a t8 fitting to t5?
They used to have fluorescent tubes but I will be using t5 led tubes... Would this work?
Http://www.****.com/tridonic-switch-start-choke-ec-2x18-oc502k
This is the ballast I have.
I don't wish to purchase new ones if I can avoid it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:23 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
Couple of things.

The website you link to is banned on this forum (They probably posted spam) so its not possible to follow your link.
Some, not all LED replacement fluorescent tubes do NOT need a ballast.

Bearing in mind the above, I would suggest you ask the supplier of your LED "tubes"

Or, change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps, it may cost a bit more initially, but lamps are cheaper.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:29 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
Couple of things.

The website you link to is banned on this forum (They probably posted spam) so its not possible to follow your link.
Some, not all LED replacement fluorescent tubes do NOT need a ballast.

Bearing in mind the above, I would suggest you ask the supplier of your LED "tubes"

Or, change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps, it may cost a bit more initially, but lamps are cheaper.
Ah okay, I will look into them! And I see link not working but you can see the model at the end of the remaining link :)

Chris

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:00 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
Couple of things.

The website you link to is banned on this forum (They probably posted spam) so its not possible to follow your link.
Some, not all LED replacement fluorescent tubes do NOT need a ballast.

Bearing in mind the above, I would suggest you ask the supplier of your LED "tubes"

Or, change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps, it may cost a bit more initially, but lamps are cheaper.



WTF have GU10's got to do with it :scratch: ?

The OP has fluorescent strip lights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:
someone-else wrote:
Couple of things.

The website you link to is banned on this forum (They probably posted spam) so its not possible to follow your link.
Some, not all LED replacement fluorescent tubes do NOT need a ballast.

Bearing in mind the above, I would suggest you ask the supplier of your LED "tubes"

Or, change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps, it may cost a bit more initially, but lamps are cheaper.



WTF have GU10's got to do with it :scratch: ?

The OP has fluorescent strip lights.
Correct and GU10 are spots?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:05 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
OnlyMe wrote:
WTF have GU10's got to do with it :scratch: ?

The OP has fluorescent strip lights.



I know he has fluorescent tubes. I merely suggested "change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps"

My thinking is it will cost less in the long run to have GU10's than LED fluorescents, but I have since looked at the cost and they cost considerably less than I thought.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:09 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
Can I change a t8 fitting to t5?
They used to have fluorescent tubes but I will be using t5 led tubes... Would this work?
Http://www.****.com/tridonic-switch-sta ... x18-oc502k
This is the ballast I have.
I don't wish to purchase new ones if I can avoid it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk



T8 and T5 tubes have different pin fittings so you cannot swap one for the other.

Led tubes do not need a ballast.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:13 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
OnlyMe wrote:
WTF have GU10's got to do with it :scratch: ?

The OP has fluorescent strip lights.



I know he has fluorescent tubes. I merely suggested "change the light fittings to say GU10 and use single LED lamps"

My thinking is it will cost less in the long run to have GU10's than LED fluorescents, but I have since looked at the cost and they cost considerably less than I thought.


Ahh, so you are suggesting a bar spot light that uses GU10s?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:14 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
Can I change a t8 fitting to t5?
They used to have fluorescent tubes but I will be using t5 led tubes... Would this work?
Http://www.****.com/tridonic-switch-start-choke-ec-2x18-oc502k
This is the ballast I have.
I don't wish to purchase new ones if I can avoid it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk



T8 and T5 tubes have different pin fittings so you cannot swap one for the other.

Led tubes do not need a ballast.
I'm aware they are different sizes, however I currently am using a ballast for led tubes so if I get the same ones then I was under the impression they also need a ballast. I will look in to the strip and see what manufacturers say.
Many thanks for your advice

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
OnlyMe wrote:
Led tubes do not need a ballast.

Now that is what I would have said, BUT, a quick use of google...........

QUESTION:
Do I need to replace or rewire my fluorescent fixture in order to have the benefits of LED Technology?

ANSWER:
No, as far back as 2004, design engineers at LED****** began developing an advanced patent-pending driver technology to allow LED tube lights to be compatible with virtually all standard fluorescent ballasts.


ANOTHER WEBSITE:
No, removing the ballast does not make your LED conversion consume less electricity. The ballast is an essential component which converts and regulates power delivered to a fluorescent tube. LEDs also require this power conversion and regulation; it can not be avoided. While it is true that the ballast is not 100% efficient (nothing is), the LED Tube Lights which require removing the ballast have, simply put, a ballast inside the tube itself. As a result, those products suffer from the exact same inefficiencies as the existing ballast.

As I said, I would agree with you, (I have to admit, i have never changed one) but alot of places say the same thing in respect of a ballast.


OnlyMe wrote:
Ahh, so you are suggesting a bar spot light that uses GU10s?

Yes.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:18 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
OnlyMe wrote:
Led tubes do not need a ballast.

Now that is what I would have said, BUT, a quick use of google...........

QUESTION:
Do I need to replace or rewire my fluorescent fixture in order to have the benefits of LED Technology?

ANSWER:
No, as far back as 2004, design engineers at LED****** began developing an advanced patent-pending driver technology to allow LED tube lights to be compatible with virtually all standard fluorescent ballasts.


ANOTHER WEBSITE:
No, removing the ballast does not make your LED conversion consume less electricity. The ballast is an essential component which converts and regulates power delivered to a fluorescent tube. LEDs also require this power conversion and regulation; it can not be avoided. While it is true that the ballast is not 100% efficient (nothing is), the LED Tube Lights which require removing the ballast have, simply put, a ballast inside the tube itself. As a result, those products suffer from the exact same inefficiencies as the existing ballast.

As I said, I would agree with you, (I have to admit, i have never changed one) but alot of places say the same thing in respect of a ballast.


OnlyMe wrote:
Ahh, so you are suggesting a bar spot light that uses GU10s?

Yes.
Okay since my current led tubes do use a ballast, would I be able to convert the plugs from t8 to t5 without and adverse effects?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:12 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
OnlyMe wrote:
Led tubes do not need a ballast.

Now that is what I would have said, BUT, a quick use of google...........

QUESTION:
Do I need to replace or rewire my fluorescent fixture in order to have the benefits of LED Technology?

ANSWER:
No, as far back as 2004, design engineers at LED****** began developing an advanced patent-pending driver technology to allow LED tube lights to be compatible with virtually all standard fluorescent ballasts.


ANOTHER WEBSITE:
No, removing the ballast does not make your LED conversion consume less electricity. The ballast is an essential component which converts and regulates power delivered to a fluorescent tube. LEDs also require this power conversion and regulation; it can not be avoided. While it is true that the ballast is not 100% efficient (nothing is), the LED Tube Lights which require removing the ballast have, simply put, a ballast inside the tube itself. As a result, those products suffer from the exact same inefficiencies as the existing ballast.

As I said, I would agree with you, (I have to admit, i have never changed one) but alot of places say the same thing in respect of a ballast.




Remember that Google can lead you to sites that have incorrect information.

The facts are that LED tubes do not need ballasts. It may be possible to run a LED tube through a ballast (but almost certainly not an electronic one) if you swap the starter for a short circuit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:25 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
Okay since my current led tubes do use a ballast, would I be able to convert the plugs from t8 to t5 without and adverse effects?


Your LED tubes are NOT using a ballast. They are merely fed through an existing ballast from when the fitting had fluorescent tubes. The ballast sits there doing nothing (other than wasting a bit of energy).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:29 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
Okay since my current led tubes do use a ballast, would I be able to convert the plugs from t8 to t5 without and adverse effects?


Your LED tubes are NOT using a ballast. They are merely fed through an existing ballast from when the fitting had fluorescent tubes. The ballast sits there doing nothing (other than wasting a bit of energy).
I see... So how would I wire directly to a plug without a ballast?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:40 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
OnlyMe wrote:
chrisenglish5690 wrote:
Okay since my current led tubes do use a ballast, would I be able to convert the plugs from t8 to t5 without and adverse effects?


Your LED tubes are NOT using a ballast. They are merely fed through an existing ballast from when the fitting had fluorescent tubes. The ballast sits there doing nothing (other than wasting a bit of energy).
I see... So how would I wire directly to a plug without a ballast?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk



Now that depends on the tubes.

I just need a bit more info. Did the first lot of LED tubes come with a replacement starter switch?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO