DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:12 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:52 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:21 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I'm trying to reinstate a lighting circuit in a room in my house.

The previous owners decided they didn't want any wall lights, so wrapped up the cables and plastered them into the walls. I've found the points where the lights go and dug out the cables: both have twin and earth cables ready to go. My issue is at the light switch (picture attached).

There is one light switch, so I really expected one cable. However, there are three: two twin and earth, one three-core and earth.

All the earths are terminated together. The black wires of the twin cores and the blue wire of the three-core are terminated together. The two red wires of the twin-cores go to the COM on the light switch. The red and yellow of the three-core were together wrapped in electrical tape. The lights currently don't turn on and I'm pretty sure I've got to do something with these last two wires.

I simply cannot work out what's going on here. I'm tempted simply to pop the red and yellow of the three-core into L1 and try it out. But that will leave me none the wiser about how this wiring setup works.

Can anyone help shed some light on it?


Attachments:
File comment: one-way, one-gang, three wires
IMG_1946.jpg
IMG_1946.jpg [ 300.23 KiB | Viewed 282 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6566
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1103 times
What have you got at the lights, any 3 core and earth?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22438
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1341 times
Been thanked: 3408 times
:welcomeuhm: freethebees

wire1 take one red out of com and put in L or L1 or L2 (Depends on your switch) lecky off first

Then report back

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:25 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2368
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 498 times
What cables are at the ceiling lights?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:34 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:21 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
What have you got at the lights, any 3 core and earth?


None at the two lights. Just twin and earth. However, I'm now wondering if there might have been a third light in here at some points (old house .. wonky ceilings and walls .. hard to tell). So a possible third light with unknown cable.

Update
I plugged the loose red and yellow in L1. Power on, light switch on and we have light!

Still no idea what cables are going where!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:58 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2368
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 498 times
Very possibly a junction box under the floorboards



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO