DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:47 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: stupid damn bloody wifi
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:49 pm
Posts: 6157
Location: south tyneside
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 498 times
:angryfire: :angryfire: :angryfire: :angryfire: :angryfire:

ok ive got a macbook pro

ive got virgin internet.

every now and then the internet becomes twatfully slow. like old skool dial up. facebook messenger goes off. it keeps saying trying to reconnect.

this site takes an eternity to load up. as do any others i may go on. then all of a sudden they come back. then 10 minutes later its the same. often itll sit with the blue bar at about 1/4 the way across the screen and then just say safari cant open the page blah blah....

however if at this time i hoy a speed test on it reakons im getting 100 meg plus. infact at any time that safari starts being a d*ck like this a speed test says im getting super hyper speeds. which i suspect is b*llocks anyway... weve got one of those tv boxes and it buffers like buggery b*llocks all the time. if it were that quick wouldnt it surely fly??

if i swap channels on the wifi it makes a difference but then its back to the same pretty quickly.

so any advise as to what i can do to help? as i said some days it works bang on. others like today its being a complete d*ck. its got me wanting to fold the laptop in half and frizbe the thing across the street :angryfire:

could it be a hardware problem? i did take it to apple and they seemed to think it was fine and it did seem to be like a flying machine on their in shop wifi.

cheers all


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6465
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1075 times
What happens if you don't use wifi and plug it in via its Ethernet cable? (just to try it) And how is wifi on another device? Just to compare?

You say it works well at an Apple shop, why not take it to some where else that has free wifi and try it there (Again just to see what happens)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:49 pm
Posts: 6157
Location: south tyneside
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 498 times
aye i could see if i can blag a mates wifi when it starts acting up like. to be honest my phone appears to work ok on the same wifi.

what i dont get is how can the speed test thingy work fine but then safari works so rubbish


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:51 am
Posts: 125
Location: Lancashire
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Are you running the Speedtest using an app or visiting a page via Safari?

Regarding your TV box. Is it one of the android streaming boxes?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:45 am 
Offline
Pro Tradesman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:24 pm
Posts: 7121
Location: Spondon, Derby
Has thanked: 197 times
Been thanked: 325 times
fin, i don't know about mac books but if you can get to a pc on your wifi, you can run a test over a period of time that will highlight any problems you might be having.

open command prompt and then type this.

ping virginmedia.com >> C:\pingtest.txt -t

leave it running for about 15 minutes. then press CTRL & C
now go check your C drive for a file called "pingtest". open it with something like notepad. now it will show you a whole list of what is actually happening with your connection. the speeds, the timed out etc.
if you get a lot of timed out with packet loss then you can do a "tracert". that will list the hops to v/m and any problems you may be having and at which point.
alternatively you can go to speedtest.net and run all of their tests.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:57 pm
Posts: 162
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 40 times
Have you tried a different browser? I find Firefox runs pretty good on the Mac, always good to have a back up browser. Every now and again if I've been on a while things start to slow down so I just close the window and the add on Click&Clean wipes all the history and cookies etc that have built up and slowed things down. Have you got the app Clean My Mac? Money well spent in my opinion, saves time and grief removing all unnecessary files.

_________________
If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 380 times
speak to virgin the older super hubs are dire and wifi can be flaky add in Mac and your in a world of hell

firefox works well on mac, its my go to on a mac but that's not often

if you have a smart phone install the speedtest.net app


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:51 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:05 am
Posts: 29
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 4 times
This may be worth a try if you haven't already looked into it but you may have automatic updates turned on. If it is downloading software updates that can seriously slow down your laptop. To check it out go to the 'App Store' in Settings and untick all the boxes. You could leave 'Automatically check for updates' on and turn off 'Install app updates'. This may or may not be the problem although I have found it slowing down my MacBook before since it seems to run in the background by default. May be worth a try anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO