DIY Forum

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:49 pm
Visit Hilti

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:15 am 

I have been asked to quote for staining 45 slatted fence panels (6ft wide, 5ft high), both sides. The panels are installed into concrete post and on top of concrete gravel boards and they are adjacent to a public footpath, so each one will need to be lifted out, laid down on dustsheets, sprayed, left to dry, turned over, sprayed on the other side, left to dry, and then reinstalled.

They are very good quality with grooved wood for the slats. It would be an endless job to stain them by hand but I have never used a sprayer before. How difficult is it to use one and get the result looking even? I'm not interested in investing in an electric sprayer as it would be a long time before I used it again, so are those hand-held plastic bottle type sprayers any good?

At the moment, before actually doing the quote, I am estimating 1 hour per panel, including the palaver of removing them and putting them back, so about 45 hours of work. Anyone done a fence like this before? Will one coat be enough with it being sprayed?

I'm inclined to turn down the job because the thought of spending a week spraying fence panels doesn't appeal to me, plus the possible expense of replacing any that break while removing or replacing them.

Attachments:
fence2.JPG
fence2.JPG [ 415.4 KiB | Viewed 741 times ]
fence1.JPG
fence1.JPG [ 131.75 KiB | Viewed 741 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:19 pm