DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:27 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I have a dimmer switch which has the following connections

Wave line and arrow = blue wire (red bit of tape round it)
L2 = yellow wire (red bit of tape round it)
L1 = Red wire


My new dimmer switch has
Live
Slave
Load

Would some kind person tell which wire go where please

I would be very grateful

Thanks


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22423
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1338 times
Been thanked: 3403 times
:welcomeuhm:

Sounds like you have 2 way switching... I'm no expert but we would need the connections at the other switch ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I think thats my problem as this is in a bedroom and it does not have any other switch in the ceiling or on the walls apart from this switch with the dimmer. The only lights that come on are the ones in the bedroom?

Thanks for any help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22423
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1338 times
Been thanked: 3403 times
Sadly the wire (core) colours mean almost nothing. Sounds like the switch you have is designed for a 2 way switch though ?

Did you make notes of how the old switch was connected ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:43 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
The old switch was

Wave line and arrow = blue wire (red bit of tape round it)
L2 = yellow wire (red bit of tape round it)
L1 = Red wire


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
picture


Attachments:
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg [ 77.45 KiB | Viewed 333 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 11:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6560
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
What concerns me is the word "slave" on the new dimmer, to me it implies its a "master" dimmer that can have slave dimmers connected to it (You can't connect a normal dimmer to another dimmer) So I would say this new dimmer is NOT suitable (But also because the existing switch has 3 wires)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 7:24 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO