DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:08 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I am having a problem with my upstairs sockets that I'm hoping I may get some advice/ideas on what could be causing the issue. I'll try explain the circumstances/issues as best possible...

All sockets had been working fine up until yesterday with no issues noted.
Also to note - nothing else is plugged in to any socket upstairs.

Plugged a vacuum cleaner in an upstairs bedroom socket and it did not work - I thought the vacuum must have been done so I got a different vacuum cleaner I had and plugged it in.. also not switching on.

Unlikely that both vacuum cleaners stopped working at same time so I tried them in sockets in 2 separate bedrooms upstairs and still didn't switch on - however, I notice a quiet buzz/hum from vacuum cleaners (both) when switching on.
I tried the vacuum cleaners in a downstairs socket and they work fine.

I then brought a small radio upstairs and plugged in and works as it should.

I left the radio on upstairs and pulled the fuses until it turned off so I knew which 30A fuse was linked to those circuits - It's an old looking wired fuse but looked to be ok as far as I could see.
I switched the vacuum on again downstairs and pulled the next 30A fuse (this one a fuse cartridge) which turned it off so I knew which one served the downstairs.

I switched the fuses (as I knew downstairs one was ok) to see if it would make a difference but no change.

I am in the midst of renovating this house so all plug sockets have been loosened and have been pulled in/out to certain degrees while painting so maybe it's possible a connection has come loose somewhere - could this be the cause of the symptoms I'm describing?

I have bought new switch plates for the whole house so I shall replace them and make sure all wires are fixed in tight and secure.

One last thing to note is that I noticed a socket downstairs had a loose neutral wire which I didn't connect back up again last night due to it being dark so couldn't turn the mains off and have no light.

Thanks in advanced for any help!


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:47 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 21095
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 709 times
Been thanked: 2041 times
could be a bad connection causing resistance
can you locate the source off the buzz remove the connected fuse and have a look checking for loose or discoloured wires

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1829 times
Definitely a loose wire and the removal of the socket plates is a big clue to that.

They are wired in a loop (or in series) so a loose connection at the FIRST one will stop all the others working properly. If you knew where the ring main came into that floor you could check the 'first' socket and that's where the fault is likely to be. Else keep checking!

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 3293
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 675 times
Any large vibrations or banging in the house ?, its the whole circuit, I would be checking the terminal inside the consumer unit for that circuit - electric off, pull the fuse, undo the screw and remove the carrier check the screws are tight and the metal tabs aren't spread apart too much

Is it a old brown bakelite wylex fuse board (main switch on the right) ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2796
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 560 times
It would seem you have two independent faults, as a ring is as the name says a ring so two feeds, so for it to fail there are two faults, you may find one by fiddling around but unlikely to find both and is second fault not found you could over load cables, so it's time to call an electrician.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : Dave54
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:44 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 3882
Has thanked: 1234 times
Been thanked: 1110 times
ericmark wrote:
It would seem you have two independent faults, as a ring is as the name says a ring so two feeds, so for it to fail there are two faults, you may find one by fiddling around but unlikely to find both and is second fault not found you could over load cables, so it's time to call an electrician.

Pretty well what I thought Eric. Could be a long standing fault somewhere, or even a bad installation, which has now had a second fault introduced by moving the sockets / associated wiring.
I've also seen blown rewireable and HRC fuses which would carry enough current to light neons, and so possibly run some small electronics.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:26 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for all the input everyone - when I got home this evening I reconnected the neutral wires in the downstairs living room up and everything is working perfect again! Must have been imbalanced load with neutral going out but not back..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO