DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Apr 21, 2019 3:21 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:36 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:47 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi, I am about to install a single oven with a power rating of 2.8kw as this will be OK to plug straight into the ring main by my calculations, I wanted to seek further protection by asking this:- Can i spur a CCU or a double pole isolator switch from a socket on the kitchen ring providing there are no other spurs, to a fixed outlet for the oven? within this outlet can I also connect the hob (for ignition spark only? as the hob is gas). Failing this should i run a radial circuit from the consumer unit to only power the oven?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:21 pm 
Offline
Electrician

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Darlington
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Anything under 3kw can be fed off the ring main no probs.

No probs with the spur either.

Don't use a DP switch! The appliance needs to be fused so use a switched fused spur. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:25 pm 
Offline
Electrician

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Darlington
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
If you install a double socket underneath and stick 2 plugs on the flexes for the hob and oven this would be fine!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:28 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:47 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Markysparky, at the risk of sounding stupid, in the switched fused spur unit, I assume a 13amp fuse would suffice? (as my calculations give me 12.79amp@2800/230) thank you very much for all your kind info. I will be enlisting your resources again. Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:21 pm 
Offline
Electrician

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Darlington
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Yes no probs with a 13 amp fuse! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO