DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:15 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: shower help please
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:34 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 182
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Attachment:
consumer box (1024x740).jpg
consumer box (1024x740).jpg [ 119.68 KiB | Viewed 710 times ]
hello im installing a new shower for my brother
he has a 8mm cable form consumer box to shower but i`t protected by a 32 amp fuse
should i install a 45amp fuse rcd
and buy a 8.5kw shower
thank you Paul
PS hope the photos works !


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:58 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6653
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1123 times
First of all there is no such thing as an 8mm cable.

The protective device (MCB in this case) is to protect the cable, so putting in a higher rated protective device will mean the cable will be overloaded and cause a fire before the protective device operates.

All new showers have to be protected by an RCD, the consumers unit your brother has, (from the picture) has no spare ways on the RCD side.

You have made so many errors before you have even done the job, you have shown that this is a job that is NOT within your ability. You need to get an electrician in to do the job properly, unless you don't like your brother and want to risk burning his house down.

Its better safe than sorry.

On the bright side, you added the picture ok.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2463
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 513 times
Bathrooms are special locations so you need to register the work with the LABC the cost of doing this is so high it is not worth DIY'ing the job, get a scheme member to do the work.

Cable is rated by the cross sectional area of the core, pi x r squared I am sure you remember school days, This PDF shows cable sizes and it would seem likely you have 1.5 mm sq cable which is well under size for any shower, you really need 10 mm sq cable 8.5 x 17.2 outer dimensions for the make linked to.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:38 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 514 times
someone-else wrote:
the consumers unit your brother has, (from the picture) has no spare ways on the RCD side.


Not even on the left hand side where there is a blanking plate :wink: ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:50 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 514 times
paul777 wrote:
hello im installing a new shower for my brother
he has a 8mm cable form consumer box to shower but i`t protected by a 32 amp fuse
should i install a 45amp fuse rcd
and buy a 8.5kw shower
thank you Paul
PS hope the photos works !


OK, so this is a shower swap not a new installation.

What is the power rating of the existing shower?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:55 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 182
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
hello all thank you for your posts
and yes sorry its 6mm cable and the shower i have taken out was 8.5kw
my brother has already bought the new shower 8.5kw
his old one has been their for some 5 years !
that's all i would like to know should l place with 10mm cable
and install a 45amp rcd
thank you for your advice Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:19 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2463
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 513 times
Although 8500/230 = 37 amp it runs for such a short time it is unlikely to trip a 32A MCB. Technically you should have cable to take 40 amp and a 40 amp MCB however that is an old consumer unit and I would think it is now hard to find 40A MCB's even if you want to change it. 6 mm cable can be thermosetting or thermoplastic so 90 deg C or 70 deg C and also clipped direct ref method C or reference method 103 so the rating can be 23.5 amp to over 47 amp we simply don't know.

So we can't really answer the question, but I think likely I would just fit it with existing 32A MCB, but since I am not on site it could change when I looked at the job.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 182
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
(1024x768).jpg[/attachment]
Attachment:
20170904_111947 (1024x768).jpg
20170904_111947 (1024x768).jpg [ 122.72 KiB | Viewed 518 times ]

hello thanks for posts
just opened the box of new shower
added new photo of consumer box and booklet
on my brothers consumer it states do not exceed 60A
in the booklet paragraph 4.1
if its below 80A please read 4.1

and yet i took out a 8.5kw shower it has a 6mm cable protected by a 32 fuse
been working for years !!!!!

thank you paul


Attachments:
20170904_112146 (1024x768).jpg
20170904_112146 (1024x768).jpg [ 166.53 KiB | Viewed 518 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:56 am
Posts: 234
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Leave the 32amp mcb it should be fine. You can get 8kw and even 7.2kw showers if you can still swap the one already bought. Another factor is what length of run it is to the shower and what it runs through ie insulation etc. You can get MK 40amp mcb's but you would have to get a secondhand one or old stock from Ebay to fit that cu. You can fit a newer MK one but you have to use a fiddly conversion kit, although I don't know if the latest MK mcb's will fit at all. More than likely the mcb that is already fitted will "hold" and not cause any problems. Hope this helps.



For this message the author Morbius has received gratitude : OnlyMe
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 182
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
the cable run to shower is not that great
i would say close to 14ft
in trucking
paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: shower help please
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 514 times
ericmark wrote:
Although 8500/230 = 37 amp it runs for such a short time it is unlikely to trip a 32A MCB. Technically you should have cable to take 40 amp and a 40 amp MCB however that is an old consumer unit and I would think it is now hard to find 40A MCB's even if you want to change it. 6 mm cable can be thermosetting or thermoplastic so 90 deg C or 70 deg C and also clipped direct ref method C or reference method 103 so the rating can be 23.5 amp to over 47 amp we simply don't know.

So we can't really answer the question, but I think likely I would just fit it with existing 32A MCB, but since I am not on site it could change when I looked at the job.


But it is not 8500/230. It's 8500/240 = 35.4A

A MCB will seldom trip at 1.13 times its rated capacity, and 32 x 1.13 = 36.2A



For this message the author OnlyMe has received thanks - 2: multiman, Timllfixit
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO