DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:04 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:12 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:50 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Hi, I recently installed some SELV downlights and for some reason only 1 set of lights (on the 2nd transformer) are working. There are 4 lights in total, 2 on each transformer, connected to a 1-way switch and then back to the board. I'm wondering if there are any common mistakes people can make when installing downlights that may have caused this issue.

A few notes:
All of the LED bulbs are tested and fine
Both transformers are working (I switched them round with the same results)
The wiring from the board to the switch is definitely OK, the problem is occurring somewhere after the switch
First time wiring in downlights and I sort of winged it, however all connections are fine as is polarity


I've provided a horrifically drawn image of the circuit below (CPC left out for clarity):

Image

Summary:
1mm T&E fed from a 5amp breaker in the CU
Line fed into COM at the switch and out through L1
Neutral in a connector block tucked into the back box
CPC in a connector block tucked into the back box
Line, Neutral and CPC coming out of the switch and into a connector block
Line and Neutral coming out the other side of the connector block to feed both transformers
Transformers supplying 2 LEDs each
Only LEDs on transformer 2 illuminating

Thanks.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:11 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
If you have swapped the "transformers" over and get the same result, and you have tested the LED lamps and they are working, It only leaves one thing. The cable. Either its damaged or you have a bad* connection.

A multi meter would also have been of use.

* Could be a short which is also not good there fore is a bad connection

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: 20charecters, multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:29 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:50 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Thanks for the reply. I'm relatively certain there isn't a short as everything is visible, I'll check resistance with the multimeter and maybe replace the connector blocks with wago connectors and see if they fare any better, otherwise I'm stumped.

Cheers



For this message the author 20charecters has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
You don't "Have" to use wagos (But they are good) I was wondering if there is a bad connection in your choc bloc.

As you have a multi meter, why not use that to find the problem? (That's what its for)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: 20charecters, multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:13 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:50 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
I never had a multimeter on me at the time, but yeah it would have helped. I replaced the connection box (at the transformer) with a wago lighting box which solved the issue, I assume there was a loose connection on their side of the box which I didn't have access too (no triangle screwdriver - or anything that would fit on hand).

Cheers for the help.



For this message the author 20charecters has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 111
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Could your password be "snowwhite&7dwarvesparis"?

Eight characters including special symbol, a number and a capital.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
arco_iris wrote:
Could your password be "snowwhite&7dwarvesparis"?

Eight characters including special symbol, a number and a capital.


:scratch:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO