DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:31 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:49 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi all . im new to this forum and thought id start of with a problem ive got ,and hopefully get some help my flip saw trips the electric when I try to turn it on ,I was plunging through some decking when it bound on the blade I lifted the saw up and tried release the decking by switching on a few times now it wont turn on and trips the house electrics .looked to get some info off you knowledgable lot.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 1:08 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7424
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 441 times
Been thanked: 1489 times
I had a router did that and the motor was burned out. It sounds similar in that you have a dead short that is knocking out the trip. I regularly blow my tool motors through with compressed air now to get rid of dust build up which I think might be a contributing factor to motor failure. Obviously you need someone to look at it but I suspect a new motor is required.

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:09 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19672
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 637 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
is the wood still on the blade??
in other words are you trying to turn a jamned blade if so do not turn it on

is you work fully supported so when you cut through the timber dosnt move[fall off]
or at worst you hand can hold it flat when cut through

which flip saw do you have and how old is it ??

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:01 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi the wood is not on the blade ,the model is DeWalt DW743N


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:26 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
sorry wrong model its as follows Dewalt D27105 asking mainly to see if its a simple fix ,as a motor is out of the question at the moment .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19672
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 637 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
tomuk30 wrote:
sorry wrong model its as follows Dewalt D27105 asking mainly to see if its a simple fix ,as a motor is out of the question at the moment .


funny enough i have the 742

heres the exploded diagram for yours
http://www.mtmc.co.uk/Spare-Parts/Dewal ... 18642.aspx

you need to try isolating things like unplug the saw from the mains and see if it resets
then check the switches arent melted in the on position ect by unplugging and using a meter

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:06 pm
Posts: 23850
Location: Darwen, Lancashire
Has thanked: 1257 times
Been thanked: 1191 times
Worn out brushes can cause the supply to trip. I had this with a washing machine once.

You should be able to isolate the electric and then remove the brushes, if they are worn just replace them and that should fix the problem.

In my dewalt chopsaw you can clearly see the brush holder screws on the motor housing, they are like a black blanking plug with a slot in it so that you can unscrew them with a flat screwdriver.

_________________
Check out our nominated charity


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
thanks will look into that ,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:35 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19672
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 637 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
its a brushless induction motor uhm :lol:

http://www.dewalt.co.uk/powertools/prod ... no/D27105/

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:06 pm
Posts: 23850
Location: Darwen, Lancashire
Has thanked: 1257 times
Been thanked: 1191 times
big-all wrote:
its a brushless induction motor uhm :lol:

http://www.dewalt.co.uk/powertools/prod ... no/D27105/



Why then, on the page that you posted to they have a -

297 - BRUSH
BDE-622437-00.1

and a

295 - BRUSH CAP
BDE-622441-00.0

:scratch:

_________________
Check out our nominated charity


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:48 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi, what does that mean in relation to checking bushes ,as I am aware of and fitted plenty of bushes in other tools


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 6:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:06 pm
Posts: 23850
Location: Darwen, Lancashire
Has thanked: 1257 times
Been thanked: 1191 times
tomuk30 wrote:
hi, what does that mean in relation to checking bushes ,as I am aware of and fitted plenty of bushes in other tools



Brushes are normally made from carbon and are designed to wear out.

Most machines these days have replaceable brushes like this Dewalt drill-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tECeZi6IfvU

But if Big-all knows that your model does not have brushes, it must be something else at fault.

_________________
Check out our nominated charity


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:05 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:49 pm
Posts: 815
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 84 times
@ BA & UHM, there are 2 versions of that flip saw theres the Standard version & the induction version so your both right.
@ tomuk30, you need to see which version you have you will need to check your manual to see if its a brush driven motor or an induction motor which requiers no brushes to operate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:08 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:41 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
yes will do ,any more ideas at whats the likely fault


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: saw trips electric
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:49 pm
Posts: 815
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 84 times
It could be the trigger ? Or it could be your sockets ring main fuse it should be a 32A fuse and that saw could be overloading the mains from that socket your pluged into because when you pull the trigger the machine pulls alot of amps to start the blade. Try pluging into a different socket outlet as ive found when i checked my mitre saw once it tripped certain sockets and the mains fuse but some others didn't so just give that a go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO