DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:22 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Router location
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 1:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 1293
Location: MONTROSE
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 48 times
Mrs A is convinced that the router shouldn't be anywhere near the TV, likewise the cordless telephone. I am sure that they are all on different wavelengths and there shouldn't be any conflicts.

I am about to rearrange wiring and sockets in the living room and having router & phone on a shelf by the TV would be a far better arrangement than at present.

Would someone with more knowledge on the subject please confirm whether this would be OK.

_________________
There are no problems - only solutions


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Router location
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 3:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7418
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 440 times
Been thanked: 1489 times
I am not an electronics expert but I have a router, cordless phone and TV all together and I have never noticed any problems at all. If it is an issue for you can use the TP links which use the household wiring system to send data from one point in the house to another. I have one connecting my Sky box to the Ethernet connections linked to the router in another room and it is fine. See http://www.argos.co.uk/product/574273

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN



For this message the author dewaltdisney has received gratitude : 54aardvark
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Router location
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6646
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
Routers are on 2.4 or 5 ghz
Cordless phones are 1.88 - 1.99 ghz
TV is in the mhz range

So, there should be no conflict what so ever. (If there were you would have noticed by now)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : 54aardvark
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Router location
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 12:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:53 pm
Posts: 1293
Location: MONTROSE
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 48 times
Thanks for that, should be enough to convince Mrs A!

_________________
There are no problems - only solutions


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Router location
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:02 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:33 pm
Posts: 3243
Location: Dundee, Scotland.
Has thanked: 569 times
Been thanked: 666 times
There again maybe not ... My ISP suggested that I move the router 1 metre away from the phone base as I had too much noise on the line. See this too: https://www.ic.co.uk/support/knowledgeb ... -problems/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Router location
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 11:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1385
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 207 times
Someone-else is right, but Broadband frequencies cover radio frequencies( new G fast will approach VHF!) so in some cases RF interference can interfere with the broadband itself, before it gets to your router, so your SP has a point. Presumably the reverse is also true.
Openreach/BT SFI(special faults investigation) sometimes use portable radios to find sources of interference if they suspect that said interference may be affecting the customers broadband.

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO