DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:19 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
Yes, they are not all exactly the same size

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:18 pm
Posts: 748
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 3 times
someone-else wrote:
Yes, they are not all exactly the same size
Annoying! What's the best way to tidy up? Caulk? I don't want to glue the socket lol

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
Depends on what is there.

Take the socket off (again :roll: ) and "flatten" the wall

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : mole81
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 412
Location: Derbyshire
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 58 times
They are not identical, but all the front-plates extend well beyond the back-box. So its only usually a problem if whoever did the decorating or plastering didn't go in towards the back box far enough - or if the old one was screwed up to still-wet paint, so that it pulled the paint off. Sadly these short-cuts are fairly common.

In some cases the socket can be tweaked slightly in position to best cover defects, before fully tightening. That could be worth a try before getting into premature redecorating.

_________________
Kev


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:18 pm
Posts: 748
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Kev888 wrote:
They are not identical, but all the front-plates extend well beyond the back-box. So its only usually a problem if whoever did the decorating or plastering didn't go in towards the back box far enough - or if the old one was screwed up to still-wet paint, so that it pulled the paint off. Sadly these short-cuts are fairly common.

In some cases the socket can be tweaked slightly in position to best cover defects, before fully tightening. That could be worth a try before getting into premature redecorating.
Thanks, I've only just decorated, guess I should of removed the sockets to check first!

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:42 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3213
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 701 times
If things are really bad you can also fit socket plates behind, some don't like them but I am not too fussy about them and they are cheap and easy to fit, no need to remove the wires.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:27 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
OchAye wrote:
someone-else wrote:
mole81 wrote:
where can I buy a tiny length of earth cable and sleeve?


Any good DIY store.


B&Q Washington (Tyne and Wear) did not have earth sleeve. Balls to that ... but easy enough to get 100m from toolstation WTF.



You are not short of electrical wholesalers in Washington :-)

Three of the big national companies are on the same industrial estate. ISTR CEF, Neways and YESSS are next to each other.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:42 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:18 pm
Posts: 748
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Save starting a new thread, what is the standard depth of a double socket pattress? I bought a mk one to replace and aged existing with ml plate that is 32mm the unit it is replacing is only 20mm is this normal?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:47 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 412
Location: Derbyshire
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Pattresses (and back boxes) are available in different depths, so there is no one standard. It gives flexibility for different depths of electrical unit and different amounts of cabling behind them. You can usually go bigger/deeper than necessary, its just a case of aesthetics or perhaps vulnerability if it sticks out from the wall further. Which is good because they aren't so popular these days, and choice is more limited: ~30mm is most common, with a deeper one for cooker switches etc and a slimmer one for light switches.

Unlike metal back-boxes, pattresses are typically made to fit the size and shape of the socket quite closely, including the radius at the corners. So for a seamless finish it is best to replace the pattress as well as the socket if you're changing brand, which it sounds like you are doing..

_________________
Kev


Last edited by Kev888 on Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:49 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:18 pm
Posts: 748
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Kev888 wrote:
Pattresses (and back boxes) are available in different depths, so there is no one standard. It gives flexibility for different depths of electrical unit and different amounts of cabling behind them. You can usually go bigger/deeper than necessary, its just a case of aesthetics or perhaps vulnerability if it sticks out from the wall further.

Unlike metal back-boxes, pattresses are typically made to fit the size and shape of the socket quite closely, including the radius at the corners. So for a seamless finish it is best to replace the pattress as well as the socket if you're changing brand, which it sounds like you are doing..
OK that's clear, I have bought the same brand socket and pattress though the new pattress is 12mm deeper than the one it's replacing and can't seem to find a shallower one in the mk brand

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Replacing sockets
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:19 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 412
Location: Derbyshire
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Yeah, I was editing my post as you responded. Pattresses aren't so popular these days, and so IMO choice is more limited: ~30mm is standard/common for MK sockets, there are deeper ones but I don't think they do a slimmer one for double sockets, the next one down is about half the depth (for light switches). Personally I think they look fine (for a surface mounted box) and its not good to cramp the wiring too much, so perhaps its a fair compromise.

There are differences between brands though, some may go for 25mm/1" instead for instance, if you particularly need it to be lower profile.

_________________
Kev


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO