DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:13 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi there

I am replacing my light switches and have a 2-gang switch that controls the hallway and the upstairs landing. Ive removed the 2-gang switch plate and the wiring configuration is different to my new switch. Old switch seems to have a single back panel with 6 terminals whereas the new plate seems to have 2 panels, each with 3 terminals:

Is the old switch horizontally seperated whereas the new one is verticially seperated, so the top right hand common goes in the bottom common on the left hand side of the new switch plate?

Any help would be greatly appreciated


Attachments:
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG [ 48.91 KiB | Viewed 764 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
You connect the new switch the same way the old one was connected. The only difference being your old switch is 2 switches side by side in same package and head to toe to each other. The new switch is 2 switches in 2 packages both the same way up.

Look at the terminal "names" both have C, L1 and L2

Or imagine you cut the new switch in half (from top to bottom) Then turned the bit on the right upside down.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:43 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
You connect the new switch the same way the old one was connected. The only difference being your old switch is 2 switches side by side in same package and head to toe to each other. The new switch is 2 switches in 2 packages both the same way up.

Look at the terminal "names" both have C, L1 and L2

Or imagine you cut the new switch in half (from top to bottom) Then turned the bit on the right upside down.


Hi mate, thanks for your response. I'm not sure if I'm following you...are you saying the old switch is horizontally split so the top L1 L2 C are switch 1 and the bottom L1 L2 and C are switch 2? So that would mean the C top right would be moved down on the new switch to bottom left?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Posts: 696
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Using your diagram, he is saying on the old, the top red yellow and blue go into the same named terminals on the left hand side of the new switch. Again on the old the bottom row go into the right hand side of the new switch. Although I am no sparky so maybe wait to get confirmation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
kevinsmbuk wrote:
Using your diagram, he is saying on the old, the top red yellow and blue go into the same named terminals on the left hand side of the new switch. Again on the old the bottom row go into the right hand side of the new switch. Although I am no sparky so maybe wait to get confirmation.


Yes thats what I thought. Top row goes into left hand side, bottom row goes into right hand side!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23784
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1477 times
Been thanked: 3757 times
Does this help...


Attachments:
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG [ 106.44 KiB | Viewed 691 times ]

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
wine~O and his laptop to the rescue. :thumbleft:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:36 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thankyou! I'm going to give this a bash tonight and report back. Im fully expecting this to work though :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:59 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:48 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Kent
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 27 times
I'm no expert and have not seen a switch like that before, but I would have thought it would be seperated like this in the old switch and then it would be like a normal two gang switch but moulded in one piece, if you see what I mean.
Like I say though, I don't know, so I'm just asking for my own clarification.

Image

EDIT: Just had a thought. The OP could let us know which cores are in the same cable, that woud help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23784
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1477 times
Been thanked: 3757 times
Mike 10 could be right... Either way if the OP checks that the 3 cores for each side of the switch come from the same cable then all will be good.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Still havent got round to doing this last pesky switch. Annoying finishing work and it being pitch black so having to work in the dark with a head torch. I'll have a look this weekend and report back!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Happy to report this has been done.

I unscrewed the front plate and saw that core 1 went along the top, and core 2 went along the bottom. I just kept the 3 wires for each core into their same switch unit.

It was rewired as per wine~o's diagram

Thankyou for your help! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO