DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:22 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:33 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello
I'm trying to replace a dimmer in the living room.
Current dimmer has 2 knobs, 1 for ceiling lights and other for wall lights which we no longer have.
I'm trying to go from to knobs 2 one basically.
When I opened the current switch i discovered an unusual setup which i haven't seen before albeit i am a bit of novice.
I have made a diagram attached of the setup and also a couple of pics.
I just need some advice on what i need to do to change this switch from a 2 to 1.
Many thanks


Attachments:
File comment: Side view of the back of old switch
Living room Switch - Back 3.JPG
Living room Switch - Back 3.JPG [ 42.47 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
File comment: Side view of the back of old switch
Living room Switch - Back 2.JPG
Living room Switch - Back 2.JPG [ 26.13 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
File comment: Top view of the back of old switch
Living room Switch - Back.JPG
Living room Switch - Back.JPG [ 30.31 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
File comment: This is the old switch that i want to replace
Living room Switch - Old.JPG
Living room Switch - Old.JPG [ 25.19 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
File comment: This is the new switch that i want add
Living room Switch - New.JPG
Living room Switch - New.JPG [ 25.58 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
File comment: Diagram of the setup
Living room Switch - diagram.JPG
Living room Switch - diagram.JPG [ 36.52 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:09 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
I'm not sure what advice to give by looking at Iooks like live feed is looped into second switch. You did not mention what switch turns on which lights ?

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
reis05 wrote:
Hello
I'm trying to replace a dimmer in the living room.
Current dimmer has 2 knobs, 1 for ceiling lights and other for wall lights which we no longer have.
I'm trying to go from to knobs 2 one basically.
When I opened the current switch i discovered an unusual setup which i haven't seen before albeit i am a bit of novice.
I have made a diagram attached of the setup and also a couple of pics.
I just need some advice on what i need to do to change this switch from a 2 to 1.
Many thanks


:welcomeuhm:

First thing lecky off.. remove the link wire (the short red within the switch)

Does your ceiling light work yes/no ?? (with the Lecky back on obviously)

Report back and I'll tell you exactly how to wire it.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:02 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:33 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi Verwood
The wall lights were working when we bought the house however we removed them all and made the electric wires "safe" before covering the gaps with filler. As we removed them I have no need for the second knob hence reducing it to one. Thank you very much for your time on this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:04 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6555
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
:shock:
His name is wine~O and that is NOT what he asked you. He wants to know do the lights work if you take the link wire out.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
reis05 wrote:
Hi Verwood
The wall lights were working when we bought the house however we removed them all and made the electric wires "safe" before covering the gaps with filler. As we removed them I have no need for the second knob hence reducing it to one. Thank you very much for your time on this.



I understand that. As it stands we don't know which "side of the switch" controls which light circuit. Remove the link wire and we will know.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Gentle people he's a new member

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:18 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:33 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Sorry, misunderstood. I removed the link cable as suggested and turned the electricity back on and the ceiling lights no longer work so I assume the wall lights had they been in place would work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
So put your yellow into L1 where the blue is now (Lecky off again) isolate the spare wire/s in a piece of choccy block or similar.

REPORT BACK....

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:38 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:33 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OK just done that yellow in L1 where the blue is and ceiling lights still off. Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
? yellow and blue into the same terminal (any) All other cores isolated. Lecky off first goes without saying. Light permanently on ?

EDIT I'm off to bed now. Had an early start this morning and a 5 am start tomorrow.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:51 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:33 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OK this works now... So on the new dimmer do I need to replicate as I just done? Is there harm in putting yellow in L1 and blue in L2?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
Yellow in com (or the wiggly line/arrow symbol) blue in L1, isolate the red safely, make sure the yellow/green is secured to the faceplate earth point.

(sorry not to get back sooner)

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO