DIY Forum

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:14 pm

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:18 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi,

I am re-painting a room with Artex ceiling. The Artex coat has two little wholes in it (which show the bare plasterboard beneath) and long thin cracks alongside the plasterboard joints. I want to fix/cover up these holes and cracks and repaint the ceiling. How can I do this? I am pretty new to painting and I am scared of the stories of individuals who have a nightmare trying to put white matt coats on existing Artex.

- Baran

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:34 pm 

Is your Artex the stipple type?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:24 pm 
Newly registered Member

Yes it is the stipple type, with many tiny dots, more like bubbles hanging from the ceiling. And the building is 1980s.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:16 am 

Knock up some filler and cover the hole, whilst the filler is still wet, get an old paintbrush, preferably a stiff one, and slightly damp the bristles, then dab into the filler so you have like a stipple effect, it wont notice once you paint it.

With the cracks its slightly more difficult, as if they are on the plasterboard join, the chances are it will crack again anyway, but here is what I do.....

I open up the crack all way along, make it wider than it is, get a scraper knife, or a ordinary knife and cut along.

Knock up some filler again, and fill this crack, dont fill it too thick, just enough to actually sink into the crack, dont worry if there is still a slight indent showing, as you dont want to fill the crack flush.