DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:23 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:45 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Im sure this thread will get some lookups and thus not only help me, but others who i bet will search for the same question.

I have just bought a Nest Hello Doorbell. This is rated at 16-24v. 8va.

If my understanding is correct, 8va is approx 0.333a

I have found an old printer power supply, 24v 1.4a (33.6va), which provides the correct volts and plenty of current (obviously more than needed by far).

Can anyone confirm i am save to use this adaptor? :downtown:

Thank you.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7932
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
I would say no.

The nest doorbell at over £200 :shock: :? requires upto 24v AC, printers are usually DC, that's why I say no.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
I would say no.

The nest doorbell at over £200 :shock: :? requires upto 24v AC, printers are usually DC, that's why I say no.


You say shock,but remember the doorbell doesnt come with a supply and ALWAYS has to be run by your old\sourced supply.
Ignore the fact i said printer. its irrelevant, The adaptor is AC :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10021
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 338 times
Been thanked: 1774 times
If it's an AC OUTPUT power pack then the 'extra current' is irrelevant. Indeed, the AC is probably converted to DC at the device anyway which necessitates some form of rectification internal to the device. Such rectification will actually accept a DC input since this is where it ends up anyway...... but, without seeing the internals/technical details it's not possible to confirm that a DC supply would work.

I suspect it specifies AC purely to allow the user to fit it in place of existing bell transformer powered standard doorbells.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:34 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Image

I just checked with a multimeter... should have before posting..
Cable before the adaptor reads 240 under AC mode (of course)
It reads 55 after the adaptor??
Switching to DC mode and it recorded 24... which is its rating.

So this is in fact an AC to DC adaptor.. which does not meet Nests specification.


Last edited by stephenstern on Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7932
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
stephenstern wrote:
Ignore the fact i said printer. its irrelevant, The adaptor is AC :wink:


Yes, its input is AC, but its output is DC, as kellys_eye points out, without seeing a diagram of your new door bell it might not accept Dc. (In theory it should, but at £200 for one, I wouldn't use a powersupply for a printer on it)

Why not buy an ac power supply? after all, what's a few£ when you have spent that much on a door bell. Better to buy the right bit according to the maker than "this'll work zzzz pooof, funny burning smell"

(Ok it probably won't go up in smoke, but I would not chance it)

Do remember a device will only draw the amount of current it needs, so you can buy a higher rated powersupply, just not a higher voltage powersupply)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:57 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I was finding a specced power supper for it is difficult :cb .. Can you point me in the direction?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7932
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
Despite what a lot of folk say, I would suggest ebay. (I buy quite a lot of stuff from there)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:03 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thats one place i was looking.. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:39 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 18 times
This may be a starting point, they seems to meet your requirements but
they're DIN mount [ebay]
https://tinyurl.com/ybz6anb4
https://tinyurl.com/ya2ltzle
There must be a unit somewhere better than these but if all else fails....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:08 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10021
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 338 times
Been thanked: 1774 times
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-5A-500MA-2 ... SwfZhXMxqf

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO