DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:57 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:49 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:42 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I am re-doing my downstairs cloakroom, and I would like to add a couple of power sockets. The cloakroom will only have a toilet, basin and radiator, the sockets would be within a cupboard (sliding doors).


Would I need to in stall an RCD as well as the sockets, or is it a complete no-go as far as regualtions are concerned?

TIA


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24008
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1503 times
Been thanked: 3802 times
Without RCD protection then don't even think about it.

Why would you need sockets in a cloakroom anyway ???

Attachment:
bath_zones_2011.jpg
bath_zones_2011.jpg [ 77.02 KiB | Viewed 624 times ]


attached pic of "zones" in a typical bathroom, anything in zones 1 or 2 has to have the correct ingress protection (IP) I believe (though I could be wrong) that any sockets would need to be a minimum of 3 metres from any water outlet unless they are zone zero.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:29 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:42 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
It is not a bathroom, it is a cloakroom, there is no bath, no shower, nothing of zone 0 or 1 within the room. As I understand it, it does not constitute a special location.

I don't want sockets in the per se, I want them in the cupboard as we will store items in there that need charging, such as the Dyson.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24008
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1503 times
Been thanked: 3802 times
Zone 2 around basin will still apply. How big is this "cloakroom"

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:58 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
wine~o wrote:
Zone 2 around basin will still apply. How big is this "cloakroom"



Bathroom zones only apply to rooms with a bath or a shower and the regs do not specify a zone 2 (as per your picture) around a basin in a bathroom.



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:08 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
xldPips wrote:
I am re-doing my downstairs cloakroom, and I would like to add a couple of power sockets. The cloakroom will only have a toilet, basin and radiator, the sockets would be within a cupboard (sliding doors).


Would I need to in stall an RCD as well as the sockets, or is it a complete no-go as far as regualtions are concerned?

TIA



All household sockets need RCD protection.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24008
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1503 times
Been thanked: 3802 times
OnlyMe wrote:


All household sockets need RCD protection.


So why do i see so many old "fuseboxes" in older houses with no RCD ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:42 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
OK , so would it be better if I said "any additional sockets to an existing installation must have RCD protection".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24008
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1503 times
Been thanked: 3802 times
OnlyMe wrote:
OK , so would it be better if I said "any additional sockets to an existing installation must have RCD protection".


Probably better if we have the conversation elsewhere (don't want to take the OP off topic)

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:36 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:42 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:

All household sockets need RCD protection.


I have a consumer unit with MCBs. I am not averse to adding an RCD, but is it actually beneficial/necessary, and do the regulations dictate the need for it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
The regs are not retrospective, but I have to ask, how would you add an RCD to your consumers unit?

an RCD is one of those things you don't worry about until you realise may be you should have had one. My mothers place still has a MEM "consumers unit" with only 4 re-wireable fuses (2 x 30A, 2 x 5A)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:48 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
The regs are not retrospective,


But they would apply if the OP adds extra sockets, and probably extra lights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8029
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1368 times
OnlyMe wrote:
someone-else wrote:
The regs are not retrospective,


But they would apply if the OP adds extra sockets, and probably extra lights.


That doesn't really make them retrospective does it.

I look at retrospective as being "I dont care what you had, or how you did it, this is what you WILL do NOW, not next week NOW"

So I am saying that if he leaves his sockets "as is" then that is fine. But as he wants to add more that is changing the existing, which then is covered under the new regs. What the OP actually does, is up to him.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:14 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2714
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
OnlyMe wrote:
someone-else wrote:
The regs are not retrospective,


But they would apply if the OP adds extra sockets, and probably extra lights.


That doesn't really make them retrospective does it.

I look at retrospective as being "I dont care what you had, or how you did it, this is what you WILL do NOW, not next week NOW"

So I am saying that if he leaves his sockets "as is" then that is fine. But as he wants to add more that is changing the existing, which then is covered under the new regs. What the OP actually does, is up to him.



Did you not read my post that said "OK. So any additional sockets to a circuit MUST be RCD protected"?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO