DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:27 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: power lead on a hoover
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 188
Location: wales
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi guys I have a numatic hoover I use for my work , the power lead that's on it is really stiff no flexability in it at all and in this weather its hard to wind it up , are there more flexible leads out there I can change it for
thanks peter


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
The cable that springs to mind is called "Arctic" its flexible down to -40 The only problem is Arctic blue (Arctic yellow is meant for 110V) is 1.5mm* CSA where as the cable on your cleaner is probably 0.5mm* CSA (3 times smaller) so yes you could change it, but you wouldn't get much inside the cleaner. (Unlike the 20+ feet you do now)
You can get Arctic black, but even that at 0.75mm* CSA is twice as big as the cable you have.

:sign7: Daft that it sounds, You could always buy a reel of Arctic flex and make an extension lead from it. But to ensure the vacuum cleaner cable never over heats (It can if its coiled up) you should cut the plug off the lead and refit it about 1m from the cleaner. That way you would never over heat its cable and the Arctic flex lead would always be flexible.

* I have no idea what the outside diameter of the cables are, but 1.5mm Arctic flex sure is big

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : DIY_Johnny
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:53 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 188
Location: wales
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
ok thank you for the reply , not sure if you know my machine its not like the henrys , it doesn't have the lead coiled up inside , grey in colour with numatic on the front , the lead is so stiff atm its twisted as well so cant really uncoil it properly either , so hence my Q to see if I can change it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:14 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2525
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 521 times
There was a cable called butel designed really for heat but the rubber used is more flexible than plastic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:29 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 188
Location: wales
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
yes plastic sums it up , after someone elses reply I might just cut it off at about 8ft , I always use an extension reel anyway as I valet for a living , so never plugged into a wall. didn't think of that , so ill try that 1st I think see if its a better set up before renewing it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:23 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:46 pm
Posts: 366
Location: essex
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 78 times
We use a big numatic red vacuum at work and the cable is plugged into the top but with a cable grip to stop it being pulled out, so you most likely can get a replacement lead if yours is just old and knackered, but I do find it a pain to move it between locations as the lead always falls down so an extension lead would be better.

Maybe using a connector like this will be better than a normal plug extension socket while you are doing it?
Image

You can get rubber cable at TLC if you follow Erics suggestion,

https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Cable_Index/Flex_Rubber/index.html?ad_position=1o2&source=adwords&ad_id=215404711629&placement=&kw=rubber%20flexible%20cable&network=g&matchtype=b&ad_type=&product_id=&product_partition_id=&test=finalurl_v2&gclid=CjwKCAiA7ovTBRAQEiwAo8dPcWBzBiAcB15dzG1HcC5BUxkboKKqvHDQgXIbrP2AgziC8aBSUeA3RRoCgw8QAvD_BwE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:03 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 188
Location: wales
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
ok , thanks guys ive just cut the plug off and re fitted it on about 8 ft , so most of the twisted stuff is gone , ill see how it goes on my next job , all itll be is the extension from the customers house will be nearer the vac , but as the old one was so badly twisted probably be the same


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1403
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Fishpond cable? That's mains cable deigned to go outside for fountains and water features. It,s a sort of rubbery texteure, but quite tough, and about 0.75 sq mmm(7-10 amps?) and 3 core if required.Sold by the yard/metre in Aquatic shops/garden centres.
You used to be able to get ribbed cable, for irons and hoovers etc. The ribs were supposed to stop the cable kinking.

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO