DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:23 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Potterton Promax SL
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:06 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I fitted new boiler, and when firing up no fire, :cb led fault came up with dry fire! System is piped correctly and filled, pump runs fine and when i link the flow switch out for just a few seconds it fires but kettles, so i'm guessing faulty flow switch, but if pump is running where is the flow of system water going as its not going through boiler?

Any thoughts would be helpful thanks.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45943
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
Has the boiler been commissioned by an RGI.

What are the led lights doing, which are on and or flashing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi Scruff and thanks for the quick reply.

Power led is on and the other two are flashing.

I'm the RGI but haven't come across this before so i thought 2 or more heads are better than 1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45943
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
Have you unplugged the 5way pcb and checked for continuity between H the bottom two connections.

Have you checked the flow switch for blockage and continuity.

Another stupid suggestion is the impeller attached to the rotor in the pump


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Yes electrics are all good, not checked for blockage yet as it involves another drain down, and its not a silly question as i thought that myself but removed the pump centre screw and you can see the spline spinning and hear water going through it just confused me as to where it was going if its not going through the flow switch! I think i will drain down and check for blockage and probably change pump anyway as looks very old and scaled up! Typical Potterton ::b


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45943
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
I would definitely check the flow switch for blockage or stuck paddle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Cool will let you know the outcome.

Thanks again Scruff :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:28 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi Scruff

Just to let you know problem solved! (In the end).

I drained down,stripped the flow switch which seemed clear and free, fitted new pump and still wouldn't fire, in the end after filling and draining about 4 times it finally kicked in to life :-P

I think there must of been some sort of blockage in the system but filled up with cleaner and is now running like a new one.............. oh it is a new one!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45943
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
There may have been a bit of package stuck in the pipe or something.

Glad your sorted :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO