DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:36 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
2008paul wrote:
Ouch, tried getting profile reset & also tried getting moved onto ADSL2+?


Last time I phoned them, about my broadband connection going off all the time they said they would reset my profile but if they have or havent I wouldnt have a clue. They havent mentioned ADSL2 so I will ask them about it if I need to call them tomorrow - hopefully the speed will be super fast then

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 161
Location: Derby
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
northwales4u wrote:
2008paul wrote:
Ouch, tried getting profile reset & also tried getting moved onto ADSL2+?


Last time I phoned them, about my broadband connection going off all the time they said they would reset my profile but if they have or havent I wouldnt have a clue. They havent mentioned ADSL2 so I will ask them about it if I need to call them tomorrow - hopefully the speed will be super fast then

No don't, the people at the call centre are crap.
Google "BT forum"

If you make a topic on there they will help.
They got my speed from 2mb to 6mb.

EDIT:

Go onto http://bit.ly/9kpnW2
Enter your phone number or postcode and it will show you Exchange.

See if it's got ADSL2+ enabled.

_________________
Image
Loving BT :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
2008paul wrote:
Go onto http://bit.ly/9kpnW2
Enter your phone number or postcode and it will show you Exchange.

See if it's got ADSL2+ enabled.


Here is my exchange but I cant see any mention of ADSL2
http://bit.ly/JSs1S3

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 161
Location: Derby
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Ye it's there, forgot it's called 21CN WBC aswell.

If you make a topic on Bt forum any way and tell them that your speed is slow and also tell them you want to move onto ADSL2+ then someone should give you the mods email.

The mods are people who work at BT so they can move you onto it and also reset profile.

Here is my topic http://bit.ly/JJDw00

As you can see at the start I had under 3mb then at end I had 6mb.

_________________
Image
Loving BT :)



For this message the author 2008paul has received gratitude : northwales4u
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
Cheers for that Paul,

Here is a quick update - reset the router after 6am and did the speed test again and it had dropped to 0.68Mps. Phoned India to speak to BT Technical Support and they told me the maximum speed my line is capable of is 8Mbs and I should be getting around 5Mbs. They asked me to go to my Hub Settings and on there it says I am getting 2.848Mbs.

Indian bloke then said "there you go, your getting 2.848Mbs"
Me "but you just said I should get around 5, thats just over half of the speed"
Him "there must be a problem with your computer, anything else I can help you with"
So I gave up.

I decided to call BT this morning as today is going to be a beer day and I definatly dont want to be phoning them after I have had a few of them (I'll probably get arrested!

I'll pop on that BT forum when I get back from my beer run.

PS - I've popped your cherry and given you your first Thanks

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:32 am 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20265
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1897 times
Image
Image
Image
Image

dont understand the upload or ping thing ??

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 3030
Location: Sussex
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 192 times
ping is how long in milliseconds it takes to get a reply from the server in maidenhead
upload is how fast your transmit is and download the recieve

_________________
- Dave

http://www.invertedcircle.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:01 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
perhaps a mod could split my bits into another thread so that others can upload their speed without seeing all the guff about my dodgy connection because I can see this turning into a long thread)

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:06 am 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20265
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1897 times
root wrote:
ping is how long in milliseconds it takes to get a reply from the server in maidenhead
upload is how fast your transmit is and download the recieve

ok cheers :thumbleft:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:12 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:06 am
Posts: 161
Location: Derby
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
northwales4u wrote:
2008paul wrote:
Go onto http://bit.ly/9kpnW2
Enter your phone number or postcode and it will show you Exchange.

See if it's got ADSL2+ enabled.


Here is my exchange but I cant see any mention of ADSL2
http://bit.ly/JSs1S3

Np, glad it's gone up abit.

Don't like that BT Speed Checker it's crap.
It says my exterminated speed is 3.5MB and I'm getting 6mb :huray:

If you don't want to make a topic you can e-mail the mods via here http://bit.ly/JSsK5P

Paul

_________________
Image
Loving BT :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
2008paul wrote:
Don't like that BT Speed Checker it's crap.


It wasnt on the BT speed checker it was via the hub settings. I know my PC is pretty old (don't scoff Scruff with your new fangled one) but surfng the net is hardly a processor hungry process and I cant see how it would reduce the speed between the hub and the PC (about 1 metre)

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:46 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 3030
Location: Sussex
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 192 times
:withstupid:
Dead link removed by admin old mbps hardware comparison table

_________________
- Dave

http://www.invertedcircle.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:03 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
blimey root - how quickly did my eyes glaze over when I clicked on that link :hello2:

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:13 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 3030
Location: Sussex
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 192 times
if you have a 33mhz pci bus connected to a 10/100 network card going into your router the data will travel 1Gbps on your PCI bus at 33 MHz bus speed then at 100mpbs from your network card into your router and at connection speed (2.84mbps) to the internet service provider. this means the connection between you, your service provider and the speedtest is degraded down to 0.84

So your connection speed is slow and the connection between your service provider and the destination is slow as well :-)

_________________
- Dave

http://www.invertedcircle.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your speed
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:44 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 2703
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 155 times
cheers Root - I did spot somewhere while I was rooting round that I have a 100MB network card - if this info any good (just done a screenshot)

Bits received is a bit low because my broadband is going on and off more times the Ryan Giggs' shorts


Attachments:
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg [ 50.79 KiB | Viewed 1625 times ]

_________________
Mike
If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO