DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:51 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Plug vs spur question
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:18 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Apologies if this is a dumb question.

I have an electrical appliance that needs to be wired to a 3a unswitched fused spur. I intend to have this done, but wanted to set it up beforehand so I was considering just connecting to the mains temporarily using a lead with a 3a plug.

Will this be safe?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23687
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1452 times
Been thanked: 3725 times
:welcomeuhm: should be fine, best to share what appliance this is though.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 370
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 82 times
llihp wrote:
......connecting to the mains temporarily using a lead with a 3a plug.

Will this be safe?


:withstupid: except wine~o also meant to say,

"as long as it isn't in a bathroom"

didn't he.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:58 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:18 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
It's an intruder alarm. Basically I'll be installing it in another property, but want to have a play around with it first.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:24 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2606
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 565 times
That's fine. If the alarm is going to be on a bench or table while you test it put a knot in the temp supply cable inside the alarm panel so that the cable cannot be pulled out of the screw terminals.

And :welcomeuhm:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 11:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7594
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1295 times
llihp wrote:
It's an intruder alarm. Basically I'll be installing it in another property, but want to have a play around with it first.


The only "problem" with that is you will not be able to test it, unless you add some devices, (most now require resistors, not just closed loops, or if its radio you will need several devices)

My point being, its usually better to install it, then "play with it" by all means read the manual cover to cover then side to side, but I wouldn't recommend your idea, for the afore mentioned reasons. (Nothing wrong with plugging it in, its just how will you test it with nothing connected?)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:09 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9854
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 1751 times
someone-else wrote:
llihp wrote:
It's an intruder alarm. Basically I'll be installing it in another property, but want to have a play around with it first.


The only "problem" with that is you will not be able to test it, unless you add some devices, (most now require resistors, not just closed loops, or if its radio you will need several devices)

My point being, its usually better to install it, then "play with it" by all means read the manual cover to cover then side to side, but I wouldn't recommend your idea, for the afore mentioned reasons. (Nothing wrong with plugging it in, its just how will you test it with nothing connected?)

That's like someone saying they want to test drive a car and 'you' suggesting they need to put fuel in it first........ :roll:

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7594
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1295 times
kellys_eye wrote:
That's like someone saying they want to test drive a car and 'you' suggesting they need to put fuel in it first........ :roll:



Not at all, just the truth.

How is he going to "Test" is if there is nothing connected to it? answer, he can't. He won't know if (for example) the exit time is too long, he won't know if the external siren works, the list goes on.
So I am saying its pointless "Testing / playing with it" on the bench unless there is something to connect it to, so if you are going to do that may as well install it and only install it the once.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:32 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2606
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 565 times
someone-else wrote:
kellys_eye wrote:
That's like someone saying they want to test drive a car and 'you' suggesting they need to put fuel in it first........ :roll:



Not at all, just the truth.

How is he going to "Test" is if there is nothing connected to it? answer, he can't. He won't know if (for example) the exit time is too long, he won't know if the external siren works, the list goes on.
So I am saying its pointless "Testing / playing with it" on the bench unless there is something to connect it to, so if you are going to do that may as well install it and only install it the once.


It could be wireless :hiding:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Derbyshire
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 47 times
In this case, I suspect the unswitched fused connection is recommended simply to stop people unplugging or switching the alarm off by accident. For just setting it up then, electrically, I see no problem with using an equivalent 3A fused plug instead.

If it is programmable, then perhaps check it has a non-volatile memory to retain settings when you transfer. But almost all do these days, or else can be sustained by the battery whilst you transfer it to the proper circuit; it would be very rare not to.

_________________
Kev


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 8:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7594
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1295 times
The plug and fuse was never a question.

It's the "testing" (on the bench) I am seeing as pointless. Also pointless programming it in case what is on site is not what you thought was there. (Even though its supposed to be there)
I can understand if its your first time with a new panel, but then you will want to set up some devices to see what it can / can't do compared to your usual panel, or if you want to set it up to save time, again how will you know its right, and if you are familiar with the panel then setting up will not take long on site. Not to mention radio devices and foil lined plaster board walls

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Derbyshire
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 47 times
someone-else wrote:
The plug and fuse was never a question.

I believe that you and i may have understood the OP differently, then. Which is fine, but different horses and all that.

FWIW prior testing has been most valuable to me in the past with first use of unfamiliar alarms, so I will not dismiss it without more info.

_________________
Kev


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:18 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for all the responses. :)

I haven't got round to it yet, but to respond to some of the questions around testing etc... It's a wireless alarm and really all I intend to do is to familiarise myself with things like:

- How to connect the wireless keypad and a PIRs
- Connecting the control panel to my laptop and using the software to fine tune configuration

I've read the cover from page to page a number of times, but the manuals are no substitute for having a go! Fully appreciate I won't be able to fully configure it etc...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO