DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:30 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:28 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi all,

I hope you can help, I have a :-) Canon MG4250 Printer with an error code 1714 "the ink absorber is almost full".
I have taken the pads out washed and dried them and put them back in. Though I cannot find anyway of resetting the printer absorber counter. Except by downloading a program in a language I do not understand, which I don't want to do. On other models you can reset the printer by pressing certain buttons in a sequence. However I cannot find any such instructions for the MG4250.

I would really appreciate if someone knows how to do this, otherwise when it tells me it is full and refuses to print any longer I will have to throw it and buy another one. :(

Thank you
Georgianna


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:57 pm
Posts: 78
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 6 times
georgianna wrote:
Hi all,

I hope you can help, I have a :-) Canon MG4250 Printer with an error code 1714 "the ink absorber is almost full".
I have taken the pads out washed and dried them and put them back in. Though I cannot find anyway of resetting the printer absorber counter. Except by downloading a program in a language I do not understand, which I don't want to do. On other models you can reset the printer by pressing certain buttons in a sequence. However I cannot find any such instructions for the MG4250.

I would really appreciate if someone knows how to do this, otherwise when it tells me it is full and refuses to print any longer I will have to throw it and buy another one. :(

Thank you
Georgianna


according to this its a service centre job

https://support.usa.canon.com/kb/index?page=content&id=ART137987


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:05 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:28 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi Vlb,
Thanks for your reply. Yes it says to take it to a service centre on the printer display, but I was hoping to get the reset code to avoid this. I think it probably will not be worth it financially to take it to be repaired. I've done what physically needed to be repaired by cleaning the pads.
I was hoping someone might have a code like the ones on this page but for my model.
http://ij-forum.blogspot.co.uk/2008/08/reset-waste-ink-absorber-error-waste.html
Thanks again
Georgianna


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:47 pm
Posts: 354
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 162 times
Have you tried this site
http://www.fixkb.com/2011/06/reset-cano ... orber.html



For this message the author boxedin has received gratitude : georgianna
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:05 am
Posts: 29
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 4 times
This may be helpful http://www.canon.co.uk/support/consumer_products/pixma_printer_wireless_connection_setup/mg4250_printer_wireless_connection_setup/. All the best.



For this message the author smujytradeservices has received gratitude : georgianna
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:28 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi thanks boxedin and smujytradeservices for your help. I tried both solutions. Unfortunately neither got rid of the error message. The reset to factory settings only works for the wireless setup and not the printer settings. I'm still searching online but I cannot find any code to reset the waste ink counter for this model or return it to factory settings.
It is a shame because the printer has no problem other than this error message!
Thanks
Georgianna :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1874
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 376 times
You need the cannon reset tool ST_V3600 it is in loose English but you can figure it out

Cut an paste the link as I will not make it live on here

https://www.printerknowledge.com/threads/canon-service-tool-v2000.6615/page-15

the older ST_V3400 can be found here

http://canonresetters.com/canon-resetter-service-tool-v3400-free-download/

Be aware these tools can only used with the printer connected via usb



For this message the author flash22 has received thanks - 2: georgianna, vlb
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:31 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:28 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Thank you flash22!!!

I bought a lead, put the printer into service mode and used the cannon reset tool ST_V3600. It worked, I turned the printer off and on again and there is no error message!! :huray:

Thank you so much, I can print again without the threat of the Ink Absorber Full message!!!

:-) Thanks Georgianna :-)



For this message the author georgianna has received gratitude : flash22
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:06 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1874
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 376 times
No problem happy to help :thumbleft:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:51 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:57 pm
Posts: 78
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 6 times
flash22 wrote:
You need the cannon reset tool ST_V3600 it is in loose English but you can figure it out

Cut an paste the link as I will not make it live on here

https://www.printerknowledge.com/threads/canon-service-tool-v2000.6615/page-15

the older ST_V3400 can be found here

http://canonresetters.com/canon-resetter-service-tool-v3400-free-download/

Be aware these tools can only used with the printer connected via usb


good spot mate


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:51 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:57 pm
Posts: 78
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 6 times
flash22 wrote:
You need the cannon reset tool ST_V3600 it is in loose English but you can figure it out

Cut an paste the link as I will not make it live on here

https://www.printerknowledge.com/threads/canon-service-tool-v2000.6615/page-15

the older ST_V3400 can be found here

http://canonresetters.com/canon-resetter-service-tool-v3400-free-download/

Be aware these tools can only used with the printer connected via usb


good spot mate


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO