DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:47 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Having no end of problems with Plus Net. Slow internet now no landline (internet still working) I have tried all the fixes recommended ,waited 45 minutes for them to answer the phone and they are saying it is a line fault. They also wont report it unless I agree to pay £65 if its something on my property.as they have ruled out faults in my equipment and plugs etc .How would I know if it was the wiring in the walls? They have said that if it is outside my property there would not be a charge.Any engineers out there and has anybody had to pay this charge? As someone on a tight budget, this would be an item!


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6657
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1123 times
The reason they charge is because often OpenReach have to go out just to plug a phone in "Because it doesn't work" Or its a "cordless phone" and the mains electricity has been turned off at the socket.

What you should do is open your master socket pull it forward a few inches and you will see another phone socket (Its what the front part you just undid plugs into)
You then plug your phone into this socket and check for a dial tone.

If you get a dial tone phone a friend or your mobile to check all is well.
If this is the case the problem is in your house.

If you get no dial tone the problem is not in your house.

Should take all of 58 seconds to try.

Either way dont forget to put the faceplate you just undid and pulled forward, back where it was.

You are ALLOWED to do this and its safe.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 3: AAA.Handy.Man, dewaltdisney, sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thanks Someone else, I did try this and no dial tone. I told Plus Net this but they still read me all the blurb about paying etc! I have messed about all day today trying all "fixes" found on Google but no joy! I was just a bit concerned about authorising the fault report in case I had to pay this, it is a lot of money to me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:03 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 1124
Location: Pennines, Wool side
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 98 times
I 'grieve' for you and so many others of us who are on very low fixed incomes and have become victims in this On the Spot Punishment culture we find ourselves in
~ Overstay in a Hospital car park and cop for a £70/£30 fine.
~ Be 5 mins late for a GP appointment and be placed on their DNA list - even tho' you are kept waiting for over 30 mins for your consultation.
~ Leave you waste bin out too long or leave the lid open and get a fixed fine - enforceable by a charge on your house!
~ Not be able to check your Gas or Elec meter reading now that all the meter readers have been 'Let Go', and get threatening letters and phone calls about Court orders and Forced entry.



For this message the author AAA.Handy.Man has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:10 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 1124
Location: Pennines, Wool side
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 98 times
someone-else wrote:
What you should do is open your master socket pull it forward a few inches and you will see another phone socket (Its what the front part you just undid plugs into)
You then plug your phone into this socket and check for a dial tone.

If you get a dial tone phone a friend or your mobile to check all is well.
If this is the case the problem is in your house. ***

Should take all of 58 seconds to try.

Either way dont forget to put the faceplate you just undid and pulled forward, back where it was.

You are ALLOWED to do this and its safe.


*** What should one do then, please?



For this message the author AAA.Handy.Man has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:11 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19675
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 637 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
AAA.Handy.Man wrote:
~ Not be able to check your Gas or Elec meter reading now that all the meter readers have been 'Let Go', and get threatening letters and phone calls about Court orders and Forced entry.

this is why i dont want a smart meter
i read my meter every week i give them a reading on the 21st off every month
why dont i want a smart meter --------




-------because they make a mistake they can remotely cut off your supplies

funny theres no mention off remote isolation off your supplies in the "benefits off smart meters" literature :scratch:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning



For this message the author big-all has received thanks - 2: AAA.Handy.Man, sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9507
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1678 times
Right on b-a :thumbright:

When the power cuts inevitably arrive those with smart meters will be the first to lose their power!

Back on topic though...... if the fault is internal to your house Sheila (after dong the checks recommended above) then get back to us and we'll try to talk you through some basic fault-finding. Somehow I think it'll be external to your property.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:15 am 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 1124
Location: Pennines, Wool side
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 98 times
:-)



For this message the author AAA.Handy.Man has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:52 am 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19675
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 637 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
as an aside
the internet can quite happily work over one wire so internet working and phone line not working can be outside as it was on two occasions when my phone line has gone down

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning



For this message the author big-all has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:47 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6657
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1123 times
AAA.Handy.Man wrote:
*** What should one do then, please?


As kellys_eye implied, it depends what is found as to what happens next, but since sheilamary3 has already tried it, there is no choice but to call openreach.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:07 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6657
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1123 times
AAA.Handy.Man wrote:
On the Spot Punishment culture we find ourselves in


But not plugging your phone in, or switching off the supply to a cordless phone is a reason to charge some one when clearly it is their fault. Time has to be paid for, and if you are wasting it, then I am of the opinion, yes you should pay for that time, which is what Open Reach do. Yes there are obviously exceptions, but as a general rule if you are asked have you checked this and that and you say you have checked as asked, and the "fault" is something you said you checked then yes you should be charged for wasting time.

The most common one I know of is "A strange beeping coming from the light"
As we all know, lights don't beep,
How often does it beep
Every 90 seconds
Have you got a smoke detector nearby?
No
Are you sure?
Of course I am sure, its my house
OK, some one will come round but if you are 100% sure there is not a smoke detector nearby and one is found you will be charged call out fee is that ok?
Yes, its ok, you wont find a smoke detector.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.
Person turns up, yes there is a beeping every 90 seconds, looks up no smoke alarm, looks in "cabinet drawer" next to light switch, what's in there not one but two smoke detectors in a packet never installed, opens packet opens smoke detectors (beep is louder) takes battery out of smoke detector.

It does and has happened.

The person who went should have gone to another job to work on that, so their time has to be paid for. Most companies can not survive as a charity. (Unless they are a charity)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:24 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 737 times
Been thanked: 777 times
Call PlusNet from your mobile with everything disconnected the faceplate pulled out of the master socket.

Get them to test the line.

If they say a fault is there, then it has to be Openreach responsibility.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk



For this message the author gas4you has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:52 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thanks all.I fully understand that they need to charge for journeys they shouldn't need to make. Call me cynical but I was concerned that they would still charge me even though I have done all the above checks.I wouldn't have any way of knowing if they were just trying it on!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 396 times
BT still own the line just do a bt fault test they will tell you where it is.

A simple test to make sure is not in your property find your master socket unplug your phone, undo the 2 screws and remove the face plate this revels the test socket - plug your phone in to this and check the line

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VQNJGhUNHM



For this message the author Bob225 has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:51 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9507
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1678 times
The internet and the phone signal travel down the same wire(s) and come from (essentially) the same place. If you get an internet connection you should get a phone signal - the only reason you can't would be a BT fault on the line or at the exchange. Another possible cause is connecting too many phones in your home - you don't have multiple extensions do you Shiela?

Of course, this all presumes that your actual phone works!

Take it to your neighbours and try it there - just to sure.

But given that Plus Net have also said that they think it's a line fault I don't think your money is at risk - demand a report on the result to check that the fault was definitely outside your own home if anyone tries to take the £65 from you by deceit.

Remember - the responsibility of the line extends all the way to, and includes, the master socket on your wall in your home. Providing the actual phone is ok and there's no extensions internally then if a good phone doesn't work in the home (the socket BEHIND the front cover) then the fault isn't 'your' problem.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received thanks - 2: AAA.Handy.Man, sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO