DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:32 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:16 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 2888
Has thanked: 872 times
Been thanked: 855 times
sheilamary3 wrote:
Thanks all.I fully understand that they need to charge for journeys they shouldn't need to make. Call me cynical but I was concerned that they would still charge me even though I have done all the above checks.I wouldn't have any way of knowing if they were just trying it on!!


I'm with Plusnet, and have had OpenReach out a couple of times over the years with line faults with the warning from PN about charges if the fault is on your side. As others have described I've done everything I could, both with and without the help of their tech people to make sure it was a fault in the BT lines.
I've never been charged. I asked the one OpenReach guy who came, and he seemed to think it was pretty rare to get charged.
FWIW I was pretty cynical too the first time, but what else can you do at the end of the day?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+

For this message the author Dave54 has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thanks again for your replies. I have asked them to report it,
I have even been to Argos to get a cheap cordless in case the one I had dug out from my shed was faulty as well!
I have done all I can do!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:31 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 1124
Location: Pennines, Wool side
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 98 times
:hello2:
Very late Edit

I'm delighted and most heartened by the majority of the replies on this thread.
However, there seem to be certain sections of 'society' which not only display an increasing intolerance of anyone who is not completely cognisant of every aspect of today's highly complex life BUT are prepared to profit (exorbitantly) from that lack of knowledge.
One of the glories of THIS Forum is the tolerance and understanding of those who 'know' for those of us who don't. Never have I seen even the most obvious (to some) resolution to a (simple) problem refused or given with bad grace. Further clarification +/ pix requested = Yes. And then we novices are led gently to a solution.
And most post fulsome thanks.

With the dominance of all purpose Call-Centres providing 'Customer Service' for everything from Sub 999 to faulty copper-cable services, it is rare (IME) for a customer to be talked thru' a problem-solving tree. Time = Money and the Call-Centre has to turn a profit.
A 'binary' response is the most likely = Sort it yourself (by yourself), or incur a very large charge if we do it.
For a Profit oriented Coy that is a completely legitimate response.
As a way to promote and sustain a caring, sharing, we're all in this together, country?
Perhaps not.
That's why I have chosen as my ISP a Co-operative - and they 'do' (Co-operate).



For this message the author AAA.Handy.Man has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 380 times
kellys_eye wrote:
The internet and the phone signal travel down the same wire(s) and come from (essentially) the same place. If you get an internet connection you should get a phone signal - the only reason you can't would be a BT fault on the line or at the exchange. Another possible cause is connecting too many phones in your home - you don't have multiple extensions do you Shiela?



you can technically get broadband with only 1 wire connected as you don't need the 60 volts DC or 42 volts AC (max limit - 50 volts Nom) for it, as its a modulated digital signal at a higher frequency or voodoo, I cant quite remember

I think this fault will be either at the exchange or outside (a bit of moisture has creeped in to a joint somewhere) the rain and the damp causes all sorts of faults



For this message the author flash22 has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:43 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
AAA.Handy.Man wrote:
:hello2:
Very late Edit

I'm delighted and most heartened by the majority of the replies on this thread.
However, there seem to be certain sections of 'society' which not only display an increasing intolerance of anyone who is not completely cognisant of every aspect of today's highly complex life BUT are prepared to profit (exorbitantly) from that lack of knowledge.
One of the glories of THIS Forum is the tolerance and understanding of those who 'know' for those of us who don't. Never have I seen even the most obvious (to some) resolution to a (simple) problem refused or given with bad grace. Further clarification +/ pix requested = Yes. And then we novices are led gently to a solution.
And most post fulsome thanks.

With the dominance of all purpose Call-Centres providing 'Customer Service' for everything from Sub 999 to faulty copper-cable services, it is rare (IME) for a customer to be talked thru' a problem-solving tree. Time = Money and the Call-Centre has to turn a profit.
A 'binary' response is the most likely = Sort it yourself (by yourself), or incur a very large charge if we do it.
For a Profit oriented Coy that is a completely legitimate response.
As a way to promote and sustain a caring, sharing, we're all in this together, country?
Perhaps not.
That's why I have chosen as my ISP a Co-operative - and they 'do' (Co-operate).


I don't agree with this at all. There are plenty of call centres that are setup and expected to be ran at a loss (a cost centre, no less), either by being ran as an internal asset or being outsourced.

Some may sell additional services to offset that cost, some may provide a multitude of services, staffed by differing numbers of people (most or majority of these people will be multiskilled to some point or at least being capable of identifying a potential sale).

What's the alternative to these call centres? going to the shop? What if it's a big or bulky item or something less portable (desktop PC?). Or would you prefer things to be site engineers for everything that you think is wrong with it?

I'd guess there are products out there that offer that exact service. I'd also hazard a guess that those products come with a MASSIVE pricetag to reflect that support too.

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9406
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1661 times
flash22 wrote:

you can technically get broadband with only 1 wire connected as you don't need the 60 volts DC or 42 volts AC (max limit - 50 volts Nom) for it, as its a modulated digital signal at a higher frequency or voodoo, I cant quite remember

Yes, I'm aware that this is possible as the ADSL signal can range up to 1MHz-ish and thus 'jump' a break in the cable which would otherwise cut the DC/AC supply to the POTS.

I just didn't want to cloud the issue!

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22226
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1325 times
Been thanked: 3335 times
@ sheilamary.. the reason that the call centre tells you that there "may" be a fee of £XYZ is only because they are obliged to since Open reach were separated from BT. It's not scaremongering and most open reach engineers are quite happy to make minor repairs even inside the house..

Do let us know how you get on.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1377
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 205 times
Your SP(Service provider) have to inform customers that there MIGHT be a charge, so they can't say "Nobody told me.......". They always do a worst case scenario.

Openreach always bill the SP for any visit, it depends on what the engineer does to cure the fault/ where the fault was that determines if the SP then passes the charge on to you.
Above advice is spot on, but make sure the phone you use is known to be working.
As a general rule of thumb, yes if the line is faulty at the socket(or incoming point) then the SP shouldn't pass on the charge. HOWEVER if the problem is caused by damage on your property( over zealous pruning, building work etc. that wasn't Openreach or your SP's fault) then the SP MAY choose to pass on the charge. Natural wear and tear of course will be covered.
The whole subject of charges is very complicated, and we have to go on courses just to learn about it!

"The internet and the phone signal travel down the same wire(s) and come from (essentially) the same place."

Yes and no. In the case of "Ordinary" or copper broadband then yes, that comes from the Exchange, along with your dial tone.
Infinity( or "Fibre broadband") is slightly different, in that the Broadband goes to the street cabinet via Optic fibre. The dial tone meanwhile comes the standard way on copper cables into the same cabinet. Then your line goes through the DSLAM( the thing that converts the Optic into broadband,) the dial tone and BB are mixed together and put down the pair of copper wires to your house. If the fault is in the "E" side cable( Exchange to cabinet) then you would have no dial tone but BB would still work.
Faults on the line can reduce broadband speeds, as can certain configurations of customer wiring.

Good luck!

Timllfixit
Openreach customer service Engineer Bath& Swindon

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.



For this message the author Timllfixit has received thanks - 2: gas4you, sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6465
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1075 times
Timllfixit wrote:
............Yes and no. In the case of "Ordinary" or copper broadband then yes, that comes from the Exchange, along with your dial tone.
Infinity( or "Fibre broadband") is slightly different, in that the Broadband goes to the street cabinet via Optic fibre. The dial tone meanwhile comes the standard way on copper cables into the same cabinet. Then your line goes through the DSLAM( the thing that converts the Optic into broadband,) the dial tone and BB are mixed together and put down the pair of copper wires to your house. If the fault is in the "E" side cable( Exchange to cabinet) then you would have no dial tone but BB would still work.
Faults on the line can reduce broadband speeds, as can certain configurations of customer wiring.

Good luck!

Timllfixit
Openreach customer service Engineer Bath& Swindon


:thumbleft: [Thanks button]

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:44 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Engineer coming Friday after waiting nearly an hour to talk to Plusnet tonight!
The call centre guy explained that they are charged exhorbitant sums by Openreach themselves, more than twice the sum they pass on to us ! I am feeling fairly confident after all my checking that the fault must be theirs! Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:01 pm
Posts: 140
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Openreach engineer came this morning after three days without my landline. Cost wise,it has cost me a new cordless phone (to check socket etc) a Vodaphone Bundle as I was on Pay as you go.and just could not afford to make calls on my mobile.I have wasted hours and hours of my life!! Tuesday I waited 45 minutes to get through to them,on Wednesday I waited 30 minutes to get through to Plus Net only to be immediately cut off!! Another 30 minutes to get back to them again. Even then,they hadnt an engineer free for the next day!! The fault was in the green box outside and, I am now back on line! Not holding my breath for any compensation though!



For this message the author sheilamary3 has received thanks - 2: AAA.Handy.Man, Dave54
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7195
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 406 times
Been thanked: 1407 times
Glad you got it sorted :thumbright:

DWD



For this message the author dewaltdisney has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6465
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1075 times
dewaltdisney wrote:
Glad you got it sorted :thumbright:

DWD


Me Too

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : sheilamary3
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:51 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22226
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1325 times
Been thanked: 3335 times
:withstupid:

Just as an aside it's always worthwhile having an old fashioned plug in handset available, so that in the event of a powercut you can still make/receive calls.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Phone Lines
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:53 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 1124
Location: Pennines, Wool side
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 98 times
wine~o
:thumbright:
A very valid point and one which many have forgotten or never knew.
S0d's Law says that one's cell phone battery will have run flat at the same time as the leccy power cut. :cb


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO