DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:30 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: one for the experts...
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:53 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1324 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
Saturday evening to sunday 2pm had major probs getting a reliable internet connection

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3030692909 was one of my better results sunday about 11.45..

Spoke to India....(Talk talk)..spent about 2 hours on the phone... :angryfire:

"would you like to book an engineer @ £20 "

"No I fooking wouldn't"

nothing has changed at my end... phone line is fine...

T'internet has been fine today...

Any suggestions???

Checks I can make??

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9405
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1660 times
When that happens to me they usually try to fob you off but if you are persistent and demand they instigate a 'reset' (don't know the proper word for it but they'll know what it means). This causes the exchange to 'recalibrate' your section of line and your speed will increase noticably thereafter.

This happened to me a number of times last year as the speed fell off after two days for a number of times until I eventually gave up and fitted a new router and the problem was fixed. I blamed the provider (line) for the problem for a long time until I was 'wised up' (IIRC by the ever-reliable BG) and did the router swap-out.

As a shortfall method you can disconnect/reconnect your modem to get it to take up a new IP address which in itself 'may' make the recalibration happen anyway...... :dunno:

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:12 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19505
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1767 times
log into your account go to calls since last bill on the rhs you will find report and repair
https://my.talktalk.co.uk/servicecentre
do you have a black router ?
they sent me one out free and doubled my speed

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning



For this message the author big-all has received thanks - 2: moderator6, wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:15 pm 
Offline
UHM Super Moderator

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 2836
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Did BA just answer a technical question? :shock: :shock: :shock:

:thumbright:

_________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work



For this message the author moderator6 has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 am
Posts: 3964
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 203 times
:dunno:
To use BigAls favourite :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:

_________________
Growing old is compulsory, growing up is not!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:57 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19505
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1767 times
:lol: :lol: :lol:
nearly pizzed my self you barstewards :lol:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:41 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:10 pm
Posts: 363
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 47 times
I had the same issue with Talk talk a year or so ago, I got so fed up that I called to cancel. When I got to the nice man in Ireland for cancellations (funny that), he had a BT engineer at my house 2 days later for free.

Turns out it was an issue at the local exchange affecting a handfull of lines in the area but Talk Talk have to pay BT to resolve these issues will do anything to fob you off.



For this message the author dandan has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:57 pm
Posts: 703
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 59 times
dandan wrote:
I had the same issue with Talk talk a year or so ago, I got so fed up that I called to cancel. When I got to the nice man in Ireland for cancellations (funny that), he had a BT engineer at my house 2 days later for free.

Turns out it was an issue at the local exchange affecting a handfull of lines in the area but Talk Talk have to pay BT to resolve these issues will do anything to fob you off.


Had exactly the same..it didn't help that it took three BT engineers to find the problem wither :roll:

wrinx

_________________
http://www.ilmostro.co.uk/



For this message the author wrinx has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1324 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
Thanks for all the replies...

T'internet has been fine since Sunday, :dunno: (A'la Big-All) why Sunday was sooooooo bad...

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:44 am 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19505
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1767 times
have you tried the test wino ??
when they sent the new router it improved over about 3 days :thumbright:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning



For this message the author big-all has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 5:22 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
Couple of questions I'd ask.....

- What's the wiring like in your house
- Where is the router plugged (master socket or extension
- Have you got things connected to other sockets/splitters (Sky, phones, answerphones, faxes)
- Have you got filters on all the other stuff?

If it's not in the master socket, first thing I'd try is to remove the 'consumer' side of the wiring. If you have a BT NTE5, you can undo the front two screws and temporarily disconnect your side of the wiring and plug straight into that socket. Then try your speed test - if it's better, you know where to start looking.

Pictures.....

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".



For this message the author BillyGoat has received gratitude : wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 5:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1324 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
BillyGoat wrote:
Couple of questions I'd ask.....

- What's the wiring like in your houseOK
- Where is the router plugged (master socket or extensionmaster
- Have you got things connected to other sockets/splitters (Sky, phones, answerphones, faxes)one phone on the slave socket, nothing else
- Have you got filters on all the other stuff?microfilters on both

If it's not in the master socket, first thing I'd try is to remove the 'consumer' side of the wiring. If you have a BT NTE5,Installation is pre-NTE5 you can undo the front two screws and temporarily disconnect your side of the wiring and plug straight into that socket. Then try your speed test - if it's better, you know where to start looking.

Pictures.....All questions above were asked by TT customer service..

BG



Annnddd...finally, all has been well since I posted the question..which makes me think that there is no problem at this end.. :scratch:

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:37 pm 
Offline
UHM Super Moderator

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 2836
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 426 times
I must say that I've never had a problem with my inter................









:lol: :lol:

_________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:52 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
.........personal skills? :lol:

W~O, it might just be nothing. It's possible it could be weather related.......it's been known lots of times for hard rain, even super hot sunshine to affect signal. Is the exchange far?

NTE5 is a good investment for a few quid too though. How is your drop wired.....do you have one master socket (with the protection) and the others slave?

How many cables internally connected in the master and where is the extension connected?

Might not have the issue now, but doesn't hurt to tidy up - might get a few extra mb out of it too.

I replaced 10 meters of old manky phone cable at my brothers with some black cat5 (all I had, I know it's not 'offical' though). Even though it's gone 6km, he went from iffy 5mb to 13mb rock solid. It's amazing how a poor drop can go bad.

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1324 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
Running new cabling not a sensible option without chasing out loadsa walls...

Apparently I'm 0.6 miles from the exchange.. (With thanks to Big All for the link...)

I normally get 6/13 Mb depending on time of day/day of the week...


Attachments:
talk or not.PNG
talk or not.PNG [ 30.63 KiB | Viewed 1021 times ]

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO