DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:04 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:03 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hello.

I'm a first time home owner and I bought a house with dodgy looking electrics but a good looking boiler.

Anyway - I just had the place rewired throughout and when I moved back in, the boiler has no pressure so I have no heating. The pilot light is on and it still fires up and sounds perfectly normal.

At my last house, my landlord showed me which screw to turn to increase the boiler pressure - but if it's the same with this one then I have no idea what to turn! There are so many more pipes!

I took some photos of the boiler and pipes, could you please help?

On the boiler there is aslo a reset button and a spanner button. The reset button makes it go silent for a few seconds then refire up again and the spanner button doesn't seem to do anything.

Image
Image


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:09 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6303
Has thanked: 723 times
Been thanked: 762 times
In your top pic you can see a white plastic 't' shape 'key' sticking down.

This is the filling loop key. The filling loop is built in on these boilers.

This needs to be turned 90d, possibly may have to be pushed up a bit first, then the white plastic knob beside it turned as well, I think that is the one, then the pressure should increase.

Fill to around 1.25 Bar, turn off both valves and remove the plastic key.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk



For this message the author gas4you has received gratitude : spellingisnotmyfort
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7341
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 900 times
Bit worrying that the key is permanantly in place Dave :lol: :lol:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:20 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Thank you for your help. I got the pressure up to 1.25 bar and then turned on the heating and no heat. The boiler sounds like it's working but the big blue light on the front started flashing after a couple of minutes and the light by the flame symbol is not on. I then tried increasing pressure to 1.5 and 1.75 bar but still the same thing.

Does anyone know what I can do?

The electrician rewired the central heating wires last week. Is this something I need to get them to look at again?

Or am I to call a plumber?

Just so you know, things I have already checked are:
Gas works to the gas fireplace downstairs (boiler is upstairs)
The thermostat is on highest and the timer is set to be on 24hours a day.

Thanks all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:23 am
Posts: 354
Location: Kings lynn
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 77 times
spellingisnotmyfort wrote:
Thank you for your help. I got the pressure up to 1.25 bar and then turned on the heating and no heat. The boiler sounds like it's working but the big blue light on the front started flashing after a couple of minutes and the light by the flame symbol is not on. I then tried increasing pressure to 1.5 and 1.75 bar but still the same thing.

Does anyone know what I can do?

The electrician rewired the central heating wires last week. Is this something I need to get them to look at again?

Or am I to call a plumber?

Just so you know, things I have already checked are:
Gas works to the gas fireplace downstairs (boiler is upstairs)
The thermostat is on highest and the timer is set to be on 24hours a day.

Thanks all.
If it has been rewired recently and hasn't worked since.....there's your answer

Sent from my HUAWEI VNS-L31 using Tapatalk



For this message the author Ktuludays has received gratitude : spellingisnotmyfort
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6303
Has thanked: 723 times
Been thanked: 762 times
Is the blue light flashing fast or slow, on an off or off and on?

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk



For this message the author gas4you has received gratitude : spellingisnotmyfort
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:02 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 times
gas4you wrote:
Is the blue light flashing fast or slow, on an off or off and on?

I posted a quick video here:
https://streamable.com/swn1w
It seems mainly off and then flashes on. Maybe five times in 4 seconds.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:03 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6303
Has thanked: 723 times
Been thanked: 762 times
Don't know these boilers too well, but from the instructions that is pointing to either a faulty sensor, fan or internal wiring problem.

You need to get your boiler man back to look over.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk



For this message the author gas4you has received thanks - 2: multiman, spellingisnotmyfort
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 times
gas4you wrote:
Don't know these boilers too well, but from the instructions that is pointing to either a faulty sensor, fan or internal wiring problem.

You need to get your boiler man back to look over.

Thanks. It was an electrician just doing a house rewire which I had round before. I suspect he did not touch wiring inside the boiler. He probably just rewired the thermostat, timer and plug/fuse. Do you believe its unlikely to be his fault?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:23 am
Posts: 354
Location: Kings lynn
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 77 times
spellingisnotmyfort wrote:
gas4you wrote:
Don't know these boilers too well, but from the instructions that is pointing to either a faulty sensor, fan or internal wiring problem.

You need to get your boiler man back to look over.

Thanks. It was an electrician just doing a house rewire which I had round before. I suspect he did not touch wiring inside the boiler. He probably just rewired the thermostat, timer and plug/fuse. Do you believe its unlikely to be his fault?
If it worked ok before the rewire I'd be looking there 1st. It's the only thing that has changed so I'd start there with the electrician revisiting

Sent from my HUAWEI VNS-L31 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6303
Has thanked: 723 times
Been thanked: 762 times
Check live and neutrals haven't been reversed somewhere after his work.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7341
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 900 times
Have you ever had the heating working?

The system could have been completely drained down and the boiler could be overheating due to air.

As it's a new house to you I'd recommend you get an RGI in, tell him what's happening and arrange to have the boiler serviced at the same time

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html



For this message the author Razor has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Update time. The electrician kindly came back but could find no fault with his own work even though it was working immediately before they started the rewire.

So I had a plumber/ registered gas person come out and he diagnosed the problem as being a faulty boiler fan.

£300ish from my own pocket later and it's sorted with a new service thrown in too. Thanks for your help everyone.



For this message the author spellingisnotmyfort has received gratitude : gas4you
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:29 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
spellingisnotmyfort wrote:
Update time. The electrician kindly came back but could find no fault with his own work even though it was working immediately before they started the rewire.

So I had a plumber/ registered gas person come out and he diagnosed the problem as being a faulty boiler fan.

£300ish from my own pocket later and it's sorted with a new service thrown in too. Thanks for your help everyone.
What rates is he charging

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
multiman wrote:
spellingisnotmyfort wrote:
Update time. The electrician kindly came back but could find no fault with his own work even though it was working immediately before they started the rewire.

So I had a plumber/ registered gas person come out and he diagnosed the problem as being a faulty boiler fan.

£300ish from my own pocket later and it's sorted with a new service thrown in too. Thanks for your help everyone.
What rates is he charging



How is that relevant Multiman ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO