DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:18 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:28 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20250
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1896 times
well i down loaded it and spent the next hour making it look exactly the same as the old version removing all new features changing the bars till things look the same but cant get rid off "page action" or"enter reader veiw" :lol:
but apart from that its very similar :huray:
as for addons i dont think i have any :dunno: :dunno: :lol:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7512
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 1342 times
big-all wrote:
as for addons i dont think i have any :dunno: :dunno: :lol:


Click on *Tools*, then *Add-ons* - or, hit Ctrl/Shift/A - and you'll find out.

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.



For this message the author ayjay has received gratitude : big-all
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:40 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20250
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1896 times
ahh ok
ad block and avast
had them for years i thought addons where a new thing :dunno: :lol:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7252
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 1227 times
Spoke too soon, firefox has crashed the computer 3 times this evening.
The computer just stops and fire fox trys to re boot, but hangs.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:40 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20250
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1896 times
no problem here :dunno:
hope you get it sorted soon someone-else :thumbright:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7252
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 1227 times
Thanks, I have disabled all my "add ons" seems to be fine again. (but I get all the adds etc I don't want)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:23 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7785
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 517 times
Been thanked: 1595 times
I use Adblock which seems to be unaffected by version 57. I updated my PC yesterday to the new version and that is working perfectly. It certainly is faster now.

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1412
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 213 times
I use Firefox portable(on a USB stick) and it works very well.

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:23 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7252
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 1227 times
Yesterday i added ONLY adblock, so far so good :thumbright:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:26 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7785
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 517 times
Been thanked: 1595 times
I must admit I do not have many add ons just basic stuff you need. My version 57 is running perfectly on my laptop and my PC. Both have Windows 10. :thumbright:

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Firefox Browser
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:20 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:09 pm
Posts: 32
Location: West Midlands
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Slightly faster than the old one. I quite liked the websites I had pinned on a "new" screen or tab so I could access them quickly. The newer one seems to have a limit on the number displayed.

As for Adblock, I understand they get paid to allow certain adverts through. I've switched to uBlock.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO