DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:21 am
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:12 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi I have some electrical knowledge can use multimeter have 13amp socket testers voltage readers and access to megger pat2 etc. I have brother in laws gym buddy who is sparx coming in 3weeks to check over my work and correct anything needed to be before fully connecting us up when he gets back from holiday I just payed him for. I have been recommended to run 10 MM t&e cable from the 32 amp mcb (currently 40 and unused but told to buy 32) which has rcb 80amps 30ma in main consumer unit. The cable is running around 15m maximum and into new Schneider garage cu (with 63amp 30ma rcb with 16amp and 6amp mcb). I'm running 3double sockets on a ring circuit in the garage from the 16amp in new unit and 2 light fittings from the 6amp in new unit. But I'm wondering how the sparx will remove and replace the mcb from main unit as we don't have any main switches to cut power to board only have rcb and the mcb in that main unit. Is that going to cost extra on top of the fee already? Also then recommended to only use 2.5 MM t&e to run from new unit to sockets and 1.5 MM I think was recommended for lighting circuits. Any help advise greatly appreciated.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:49 am 

2.5mm Twin and earth is the "norm" for ring mains
1.5mm Twin and earth is the "norm" for lighting circuits

As for will he charge extra :dunno:

Its not possible for any of us to know what your sparks is or is not going to charge you for.
You could always assume he will charge you, and then you can be happy when he doesn't :wink: