DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:20 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:53 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:47 pm
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Afternoon all

I have 6 x 12v downlighters in my bathroom - each runs off its own transformer (60W) - can I replace the 12v MR16 with the equivalent LED's without having to change the transformers?
Cheers


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:17 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
No. :sad:

As you said, you have transformers, LED lamps do not like / run on Transformers. Also Some "transformers" have a minimum load requirement before they will switch on / work. You need to have "drivers"
That said you could buy 1 small powersupply and run them all from that. (Often these cost less than a LED driver) Only problem is they might not fit through the hole, but if you have access to above.............

Something like This Other suppliers of power supplies are available

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:16 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:47 pm
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OK Thanks - I could access from above as they go through to loft space - however that requires a lot of moving of insulation so may give that a miss and try and change everything through the hole.

Is this incorrect ?

https://www.lightbulbs-direct.com/artic ... with-leds/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:46 pm
Posts: 409
Location: essex
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 91 times
I have a 4 lamp track light in my kitchen that takes 20w mr16 halogen lamps and I changed 3 for LED as they was on offer, the light instructions say the transformer needs 20w minimum to work so I left 1 halogen in it.

Many months later that eventually blew and the 3 LED's stayed on so I changed it for an LED and it is fine, I suppose it depends on the transformer fitted. :dunno:



For this message the author adonis has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:19 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
Not sure what you mean by "is this correct?" The link works and goes to a supplier, I will be honest, I didn't read it, If its a technical question about what they supply ask them.

Something I forgot to mention. :oops: Any powersupply you choose must be the same voltage as the lamps and a higher rated output than the total wattage of the new lamps.
So if you have 4 x 5 watt lamps, a 15w powersupply is too small and a 30w powersupply is fine (Since it is bigger than required)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2643
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
There is no problem simply swapping quartz MR16 12 volt lamps powered by a transformer for replacement LED lamps, normally they are marked 50 Hz on the lamps to show they are designed to run from a transformer.

However are you sure they are powered by transformers? In the main people use electronic transformers these are not transformers they are completely different.

It is like trying to compare a car with a rail car, both have the name car, but they are nothing like each other.

I have 4 x 12 volt G5.3 LED lamps which have replaced the 4 quartz lamps running from a toroidal lighting transformer like this one Image and they have been in now for nearly two years with no problems.

It is possible these will also work should not really use then as output in kHz range, but where it said 0 - 50W likely they will work, but ones stating 20 - 60W likely will not work as under loaded.

But question as asked the answer is YES they will work as a direct replacement when powered from a transformer.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:19 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:47 pm
Posts: 47
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Ok -I've located the box for the transformer - it's a Dais DA-E60 electronic transformer 20-60W/VA

Can I remove the transformers and convert the fitting using these?
https://www.screwfix.com/p/luceco-gu10- ... 90mm/3751h

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2643
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
marko65 wrote:
OK Thanks - I could access from above as they go through to loft space - however that requires a lot of moving of insulation so may give that a miss and try and change everything through the hole.

Is this incorrect ?

https://www.lightbulbs-direct.com/artic ... with-leds/

No it is not correct. There are many MR16 replacements, most are AC/DC and use diodes to ensure correct polarity and a resistor to limit current and will work on nearly any regulated 12 volt supply.

There are however specials which use pulse width modulated technology and are designed for a smooth DC supply often with a supply voltage range of 10 ~ 30 volt. They are designed for cars, caravans and boats i.e. from a battery, and not for use with the rough power supplies used with the fixed 12 volt bulbs.

In the main the problem is not the bulb but the power supply, and the lighting industry seems to have set out to confuse people.
So we have.
1) toroidal lighting transformer gives out around 12 volt.
2) Electronic transformer really a switch mode power supply often in kHz range and also often a minimum output as well as max.
3) The driver, tradition current regulated not voltage and DC, however there are some voltage regulated devices also called drivers, so in real terms driver means DC power supply and you need to read the label.
4) Battery although rated 12 volt they are often charged with a 14.8 volt supply, so you need a special lamp able to take the variable voltage.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MR16 to LED
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2643
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
marko65 wrote:
Ok -I've located the box for the transformer - it's a Dais DA-E60 electronic transformer 20-60W/VA

Can I remove the transformers and convert the fitting using these?
https://www.screwfix.com/p/luceco-gu10- ... 90mm/3751h

Thanks

Yes but it does require an earth so you may need new cables as well.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : marko65
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO