DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun May 26, 2019 12:22 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:05 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:36 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I'm in the process of installing a summer house which will require electricity, I'm not a qualified electrician but my plan is to purchase and install the hardware and then pay for an electrician to check and certify my work. I have a few questions that I'd like some advice on before proceeding.

I have a garage that has an SWA supply from the main house RCD and this has two circuits one for lighting the other for power, the plan is to feed the summer house from the garage, the circuit will be as follows:

(House RCD -> SWA -> Garage RCD -> Power Circuit) -> SWA 20 metres -> External Power Socket -> Log Cabin

Bold - Existing items

Questions:
SWA cable run, this will be approximately 20m in length, should I use 2.5mm or is 4mm SWA due to cable length? This will be secured to the fence which has concrete posts, not shiplap fencing, I know this can be a bit of a grey area but will this cause problems?

The garage already has a SWA spur of the house mains to an RCD with two circuit breakers, one for lighting and one for power. My current thinking is to connect the new SWA to the existing power circuit in the garage. Can the SWA feed to the log cabin be connected to the power circuit or will a new circuit breaker be required in the garage RCD and the SWA directly connected?

Will a new RCD need fitting inside the log cabin similar to the one fitted in the garage, power requirements will be two dual 3-pin sockets and basic lighting, maybe 12v lights?

I plan to purchase and run cables myself, and then have the connections made in to the existing circuits and certified by a qualified electrician?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:21 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8715
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1480 times
I would suggest you get an electrician to do the job BEFORE you buy or do anything.
That way you can ask him what to do.

If (on any forum) a person says yes do this this and this, and the electrician says no, you can't do that, you will have wasted money, but if you do what "your" electrician says it must be right.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:12 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1829 times
Treat the new system as an 'extension' and you won't need any certification - simply stated you could run a 16A 'caravan cable' (although you'd use SWA instead) from the garage to a power point or unit with a couple of additional breakers if you felt the need.

Rather depends on what you intend to connect to it but for low power lighting (LED) and a socket for ?? mobile phone, laptop or even small heater (<2kW) you don't have to have anything too complicated. 2.5mm would be adequate for such an arrangement.

I'd fit an SWA junction box at either end. In the garage I'd connect a lead to a 13A plug (this makes it an 'extension') and at the log cabin end wire the SWA junction box via another cable directly into a 13A socket and fit a switched, fused (5A) spur to the lighting circuit.

Of course, if you want something more permanent and with future potential for expansion then wiring directly into the house CU and fitting a CU in the cabin would be required but cost considerably more.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:43 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:36 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for your suggestion, I'm not sure if you've seen another post but my thinking has been very similar to the wiring in our caravan. I'd already decided to install an external power post.

I've asked a local electrician to provide a quote and it'll be interesting to see what his solution will be and how similar it'll be to the extension approach. Having inspected the suppliers demo log cabin their solution is extension with no circuit breakers, I'd include images but not sure how to upload them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2816
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 564 times
I am going for the moment forget the legal requirements, but instead consider electrical requirements, so first you need some readings and facts.

1) Line - neutral impedance at consumer unit (potential short circuit current) can be used instead.
2) Line - neutral impedance at where you are adding the extra bits, from this you could work out volt drop.

We know from calculations once we know incoming impedance, what impedance the final circuit has to be, we also know how much of that allowance has already been used, so we can calculate what size cable will be required to keep within the limits.

But until you have some readings, we can only guess, however often we can guess close enough to take a chance, so we think it's going to be well within limits so we fit then test, if we however think it may be on the edge then we calculate.

Now you should already have some readings, be it the original installation certificate or a electrical installation condition report, there are two limits, one the earth loop impedance and other line - neutral both limits depend on the overload protective device.

If you post some readings then maybe some one will say how much extra cable and what size, but without readings it is rather pointless, we are just guessing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO