DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:15 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 181 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:40 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
moneyshot wrote:
Are you still monitoring your gas bills now the Intergas has been in what is it? 10 months! Is the second model doing ok as well?


Hi, Gas is about £300.00 in credit, done the checks last night as it happens.

I would estimate, gas usage is down on last year by around 40%, I have the total units for last year, so will compare the full year at the end of December.

The second boiler at Daughters is going great, they have noticed big savings as they don't need to heat the hot water cylinder for kitchen use now, so program the cylinder for an hour at night for baths.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
Update.

have reduced my direct debit by a 1/3rd saving £30 a month and have a £363 refund since January. :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:53 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1323 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
thescruff wrote:
Update.

have reduced my direct debit by a 1/3rd saving £30 a month and have a £363 refund since January. :thumbright:


So at that rate how long will the "Pay-back" be...? Bearing in mind that you didn't have to pay the Installer?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:57 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
2 years :thumbright:

My gas price is fixed the same as last year until April 2012.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1323 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
HMMM....might be looking at getting rid of our old potty kingfisher C.1980....know any reasonable Gas fitters???


:lol: :lol:

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:27 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:57 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Quick question for Scruff and the other Intergas experts. I've had my Intergas 24/18 combi for just over a year now and more than happy with it.
With most boilers they have the pressure gauge on the display control panel so you can instantly see what the pressure is. With the Intergas you have to hit the off button to see what the pressure is. Just wondering what the thinking was behind doing it that way. Doesn't the Atmos show the pressure on the control panel ?.

Scruff, How you getting on with your hydroflow you fitted along with your new boiler. I've noticed quite a reduction in limescale buildup around taps etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
The pressure reading is digital and not mechanical, you only need to push the I button to check, then the clock button to set the programmer to what it was before.

I've no idea how or what the Hydroflow does, unless something goes wrong and the hot water fails.

Fitted one at Daughters who has very chalky water from the Southdowns, so will be interesting how it performs on her boiler.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:37 pm
Posts: 351
Location: Coventry
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 44 times
operator wrote:
Quick question for Scruff and the other Intergas experts. I've had my Intergas 24/18 combi for just over a year now and more than happy with it.
With most boilers they have the pressure gauge on the display control panel so you can instantly see what the pressure is. With the Intergas you have to hit the off button to see what the pressure is. Just wondering what the thinking was behind doing it that way. Doesn't the Atmos show the pressure on the control panel ?.

Scruff, How you getting on with your hydroflow you fitted along with your new boiler. I've noticed quite a reduction in limescale buildup around taps etc.


Quote: “With most boilers they have the pressure gauge on the display control panel so you can instantly see what the pressure is.”

Although the built in digital gauge is obviously more accurate I have teed in a mechanical pressure gauge (bought off eBay) into the CH return just underneath the boiler.
I prefer the ability to see the pressure at a glance. :mrgreen:
Following Scruffs advice I have also fitted a hydroflow (another purchase off eBay) just for peace of mind.
Mehran2 and others that may be interested.
As I promised before Christmas :oops: I will post some pics of my Intergas install/project in the forum soon.
Just been so busy with other things lately. :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:37 pm
Posts: 267
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 64 times
just read on another forum that the control board for an intergas is £258 plus vat and similar for viessman !

ouch ! hope your pcb doesn t go scruff !! i thought ideal icos were expensive at £200 all in !!

where do they get these prices from when worcester and vaillant new models are about £120 !!

scruff you always say that WB and vaillant are really a rip off for parts pal in your posts ?? have i got this right or are these figures wrong ??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
Don't know the price of spares saltfordpaul, it is Rip off Britain so nothing is a surprise.

I believe the Viessmann PCB is 50% of the cost of a new boiler.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
The old boiler was playing up a bit in the high winds and torrential rain, locking out on 5, so gave it, her first service.

Seems to have solved the problem. :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 1240
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 129 times
thescruff wrote:
The old boiler was playing up a bit in the high winds and torrential rain, locking out on 5, so gave it, her first service.

What do you mean by "locking out on 5" (it's the 5 bit I don't understand)?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
5 is CH mode.

It's when the boiler fires up the display number changes....

like:
4 Ignite
5 CH mode
6 DHW mode
0 CH pump post run

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".



For this message the author BillyGoat has received gratitude : D Hailsham
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
Fault code 5. :roll:

poor flame signal



For this message the author thescruff has received gratitude : D Hailsham
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 7:14 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
oops.

Ignore me ..... I'll get my worn out coat.

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 181 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO