DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:41 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:01 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
My bedroom was built in 2003, before the changing of colours of wires. At one end of the room there is a light switch, but there is a pullcord by my bed for the days I am unable to get out of bed and turn on the light by the door.

I've been wanting to replace the light switch at the door with a dimmer switch for a while. I managed to replace it yesterday and it seemed to work. I wasn't able to switch the light off from my bed. I checked the dimmer switch to see if there was a common terminal, and there wasn't.

The terminals I do have are an earth, L2, L1 and a wavy line with an arrow going through it, which I'm thinking is the load?

I've got a variety of wires. 2 red, yellow, black, blue, and a thick grey wire with a red line. I'm going to go back to Homebase, because the dimmer doesn't allow the L1 screw to tighten or loosen, and I may get a testing pen too.

How should it be wired up? Does one of the red wires go in L1 and the other L2? Which goes in the wavy line? All these questions!


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Life is never easy is it.

Like wise there is not a definitive answer to your question. It really is down to how who ever installed it chose to wire it :cb
But since you are taking back the dimmer why not put the old switch back, and get that working as it should. (By trying combinations) When you have done that take a picture of the connections and try the new dimmer and let us know if you have any problems.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:29 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I tried doing that last night... Now the light won't switch on!

That still wouldn't help me with where the wire in 'common' should go, or which wires are for the squiggly line with an arrow through


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Rybeast wrote:
I tried doing that last night... Now the light won't switch on!

That still wouldn't help me with where the wire in 'common' should go, or which wires are for the squiggly line with an arrow through


Actually it would help. But I can't say any more since you have not got it working yet.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:57 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
Rybeast wrote:
I tried doing that last night... Now the light won't switch on!

That still wouldn't help me with where the wire in 'common' should go, or which wires are for the squiggly line with an arrow through


Actually it would help. But I can't say any more since you have not got it working yet.


How would it help, aside from working out all the different possible combinations?

What should it look like in a normal two way switch set up? Which colours should be in L1 and L2? What about the common?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Rybeast wrote:
Which colours should be in L1 and L2? What about the common?


I am NOT being awkward / funny but I have already told you, it is up to how who ever wired it chose to do it, colour choice really is up to them, there is no standard colour code for 2 way switching. hence try all combinations till it works.

The only other suggestion at this time is open your pull cord switch and see how that is connected and connect the switch the same configuration. There should always only be 1 wire in the C teminal

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23878
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1483 times
Been thanked: 3783 times
:welcomeuhm:

Pics please of the wiring at both switches. I'm sure we can help. Are you sure the dimmer you bought is a 2 way switch ? you said

Quote:
the dimmer doesn't allow the L1 screw to tighten or loosen
which suggests a faulty switch or you have only bought a one way switch.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
wine~o wrote:
the dimmer doesn't allow the L1 screw to tighten or loosen
which suggests a faulty switch or you have only bought a one way switch.[/quote]

But he already said

Rybeast wrote:
I'm going to go back to Homebase,


So i am waiting for him to put the old one back, get it working then we can take it from there.

Yes pics would help, but if he looks at the pull cord then copies that it is half the battle won

I also never said we can not help

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 9:05 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
How do I insert an image on these forums?

I dont know anything anymore tbf. I’ve had the dimmer switch working, but I took it apart to try and get the two way working again. I’ve put the switch back to a retractive switxh and now it isn’t working. I’m not entirely sure why you’re saying I need to try different combinations, surely if it works it works, and it is the control switch that is needed to be the same?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:36 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
https://scontent.fman2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31164062_10155987652800465_8291053951565624182_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=v1%3AAeGUSzyOd3mga5qzhRsc1bNp7jl7g1IwCDUCPGb1Y8dQF7aod2WsDuH0hD2XUXrxsK1HN59FJFnsgaUUpxDv-G6P3fhYz3VIEL6EIlnoo-rrpw&oh=c0677c8e1c4a04f5f871490a0cb38534&oe=5B54CBAB

https://scontent.fman2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31073233_10155987652835465_3038864818566388557_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=v1%3AAeFyzxtvhJfjclu3NYNmZlr_VTLh5NWn0AsbXlIJikQ4NQUga5ZjDmI24opQ2BKcg6pnruc6sF3QjLXZoGu6Uy2wzM5MCw2P7aX9KaJ6WghFEQ&oh=d237f21447464def00ce13fbb688ad03&oe=5B644C53


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Rybeast wrote:
How do I insert an image on these forums?


To add images, my signature has a link that tells you how, and how to re size them

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hmmmm. It seems I’m having trouble uploading due to pixel sizes :/

I did provide some links in my previous post, however.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7846
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Rybeast wrote:
Hmmmm. It seems I’m having trouble uploading due to pixel sizes :/


someone-else wrote:
To add images, my signature has a link that tells you how, and how to re size them



Rybeast wrote:
I did provide some links in my previous post, however.


Sorry but they do not work.

You can also click on the "preview" button to see does everything you have typed work as it should before you press the "submit" button

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:48 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Should work now, hopefully!!


Attachments:
File comment: New switch
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 203.64 KiB | Viewed 524 times ]
File comment: Close up of pull cord
IMG_0228 copy.jpg
IMG_0228 copy.jpg [ 269.17 KiB | Viewed 524 times ]
File comment: Wiring at pull-cord switch
IMG_0225 copy.jpg
IMG_0225 copy.jpg [ 249.42 KiB | Viewed 524 times ]
File comment: Wiring at switch to be changed.
39C81ED3-E9EE-451D-A0DC-380691401BDD copy.jpg
39C81ED3-E9EE-451D-A0DC-380691401BDD copy.jpg [ 126.92 KiB | Viewed 524 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:49 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:59 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
Rybeast wrote:
Hmmmm. It seems I’m having trouble uploading due to pixel sizes :/


someone-else wrote:
To add images, my signature has a link that tells you how, and how to re size them



Rybeast wrote:
I did provide some links in my previous post, however.


Sorry but they do not work.

You can also click on the "preview" button to see does everything you have typed work as it should before you press the "submit" button


It was more for you to be able to click the links to see the images, rather than have the image embedded in the reply. Uploaded them anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO