DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:25 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
I've done installs for a lot less then 1400 Dickie. How much do you expect to make for a day or so's work it isn't rocket science!!

And I seriously doubt any Intergas engineer would ever have a problem with one of my installs, more than their lives are worth to criticise me :lol: :lol:

You can pay all the money for a crap job just as easily as you can pay peanuts :wink:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 737 times
Been thanked: 777 times
£1400 + vat is an awful lot for labour in my book just to fit a boiler.

Probably isn't as much as that in reality, as there will be mark up on materials in that figure as well.

That is nearly a weeks labour not 2 days!

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:24 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Razor, I had looked at the Intouch system but I'm not a big fan of the round Honeywell thermostat that is supplied by default. Some of the documentation says that it needs to be wired in to a fixed position which seems a bit of a step back compared to the wireless Nest/Hive type systems out there.

Is it possible to use a different thermostat with the Intouch?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
There is now a new version of the Intouch that has a wireless stat but it's still the mushroom design - until Intergas release their own controls which look like black Iphone type things but smaller.

You can fit any other thermostat with intouch but if you're not bothered about having the installer monitor the boiler I'd go with one of the Lyric stats. You can get full OT together with internet access and the T4M even picks up fault codes from the boiler.

Of course if funds are tight the single channel Hive can go on it for now and it will work fine albeit slightly less efficiently

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html



For this message the author Razor has received gratitude : Ged33
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:38 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Sorry to piggyback on the thread.

I too have been waiting for the new Intergas range to come out, its the lower modulation for CH i was interested in.
I already have EvoHome and would be interested in whether the problems between the EcoRF and OpenTherm bridge have been resolved yet?

Razor - is it possible for you to PM me your contact details at all?
I'm walking distance from Intergas UK HQ perhaps I should just walk in and ask if they know you by forum name :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
rcopus wrote:
I'm walking distance from Intergas UK HQ perhaps I should just walk in and ask if they know you by forum name :lol:


By forum name probably not but if you asked for Intergas' most senior engineer they might have a clue :wink:

The problem was a setup one in Evohome, credit where it's due it was Richard at the Evohome shop that sorted it out. It might be worth giving him a call he's working with Honeywell directly and there are probably only two more people in the country that know more about it - and that's debatable!

www.evohomeshop.co.uk

As for the new boiler the next one we are launching is the Extreme which uses the same platform as he HRX but with a bigger heat exchanger. I do have info about it but I'm afraid I'm waiting for the NDA to be lifted. It will be on this forum first :salute:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:59 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:38 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks Razor!

I’ve dealt with Richard before, automatedhome forums are the place to be when it’s about Evohome. There are some people who take monitoring of the system performance to the next level on there! There’s also involvement from Honeywell on there too.

I don’t currently have an IG boiler, it was the issues with the EcoRF not working as it should that put me off. My current system appears to not have an ABV, but also no OpenTherm and some other very stupid logic that means low heat demand will lead to the boiler slowly destroying itself. I won’t spam the thread with further details though!

I was actually looking for contact details of someone who comes highly recommended to install an IG before winter comes and I’m left without anything (I have no storage and no electric showers).
I know there’s an installer finder on the IG site but they don’t have page after page of praise about them on forums like this!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 11:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
If you can wait I'm actually staying in Kingswinford on the 6th/7th September because I'm doing some training for the guys on the technical helpline. If you're that close I'm happy to pop round and offer any advice I can :thumbright:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7424
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 441 times
Been thanked: 1489 times
What a decent chap you are Razor :thumbright:

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN



For this message the author dewaltdisney has received thanks - 4: Dickie, gas4you, Razor, steviejoiner74
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
Thanks DWD, if he behaves I might even sneak him into my training room to see the boilers close up and naked :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:55 am
Posts: 6307
Location: Glasgow
Has thanked: 1075 times
Been thanked: 799 times
Razor wrote:
I've done installs for a lot less then 1400 Dickie. How much do you expect to make for a day or so's work it isn't rocket science!!

And I seriously doubt any Intergas engineer would ever have a problem with one of my installs, more than their lives are worth to criticise me :lol: :lol:

You can pay all the money for a crap job just as easily as you can pay peanuts :wink:


Granted Labour only £1.4K is a lot, but

_________________
Time-served Plumber/Heating Engineer & general wind-up merchant.
The Plumbers Anthem
If you have found my help or tips useful please donate here. Thank You;
donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html
Gas Safe RGI
Scottish, British & Proud.
I'm not or never claimed to be Chris Williams.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:49 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:38 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks Razor that's very kind!

I can't send PM's so I can't give you my details.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 times
To update the thread I managed to get my new boiler installed for a very reasonable price. One compromise was that the heating engineer hadn't fitted any Intergas boilers previously. Still, it is in and heating DHW fine :thumbright:

I went with the Hive as a heating controller as I already had it, but I may well follow Razor's suggestion of upgrading when the more attractive Intergas controls are released. The Hive receiver is wired in but as the radiators aren't currently installed I haven't completed the full setup or any tests yet.

As a quick sanity check could somebody confirm the correct control wiring from a single channel Hive to an Eco rf so I can compare it with my install?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7352
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 903 times
Just knocked this up for you :salute:

Attachment:
Hive.PNG
Hive.PNG [ 666.85 KiB | Viewed 131 times ]

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html



For this message the author Razor has received gratitude : Ged33
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:01 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Thanks Razor, that's great. Much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO