DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon May 27, 2019 2:54 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:24 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Hi
I want to install wall heater in my bathroom which is about 2.7m X 2.8m area size, 1KW will do but most fan heaters are 1KW/2KW adjustable on installation.
I have a cable unused behind an unused mirror in the bathroom and there is a spur fuse above which I believe belongs to it. I have never used this cable and haven't checked the fuse.
My questions are:
1. Is this cable safe enough/sufficient for 2KW heater? if not how about 1KW heater? 9A against 4.5A.
2. How do I check if the cable is live safely?

Photo of cable and spur attached.

Thanks


Attachments:
IMG_2591.JPG
IMG_2591.JPG [ 82.94 KiB | Viewed 822 times ]
IMG_2590.JPG
IMG_2590.JPG [ 52.99 KiB | Viewed 822 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:52 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
I just checked the spur and it has a 13A fuse.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24487
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1564 times
Been thanked: 3915 times
I assume you don't have a multimeter so easiest way to test for live is to wire in a bulb holder and see if the lamp works. If so then it's live.

Question ... are there any markings on the cable coming from the wall such as 1.0 1.5 or 2.5 ?

Next with the bulb lit switch off any circuits of 6 A ( marked lighting) at the consumer unit, Does the light stay on or go off ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:30 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:
I assume you don't have a multimeter so easiest way to test for live is to wire in a bulb holder and see if the lamp works. If so then it's live.

Question ... are there any markings on the cable coming from the wall such as 1.0 1.5 or 2.5 ?

Next with the bulb lit switch off any circuits of 6 A ( marked lighting) at the consumer unit, Does the light stay on or go off ?


Yes I have multimeter, I will check for V ac between L and N for mains voltage, I will do that tomorrow easier than bulb.

No marking on cable, spurs has 13A fuse, safe to assume 1.5mm?

Can't see 6A on CU, assume it is the 10A lighting you're referring to, photo attached.


Attachments:
IMG_2592.JPG
IMG_2592.JPG [ 273.92 KiB | Viewed 792 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:04 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:

Next with the bulb lit switch off any circuits of 6 A ( marked lighting) at the consumer unit, Does the light stay on or go off ?


This cable was added later by previous owner, I believe. So I don't think it is taken from the lighting circuit but will check, probably wire and bulb method is easier to check on which rcd.
I understand fan heater should not be on lighting circuit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24487
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1564 times
Been thanked: 3915 times
yartin wrote:
I understand fan heater should not be on lighting circuit?


That's basically what I was getting at, if a lighting circuit then no heater, if a ring main then good to go assuming that the cable from the FCU to the heater is up to the job.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:08 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:
yartin wrote:
I understand fan heater should not be on lighting circuit?


That's basically what I was getting at, if a lighting circuit then no heater, if a ring main then good to go assuming that the cable from the FCU to the heater is up to the job.


Got it, I will check this weekend, many thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:12 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:
yartin wrote:
I understand fan heater should not be on lighting circuit?


That's basically what I was getting at, if a lighting circuit then no heater, if a ring main then good to go assuming that the cable from the FCU to the heater is up to the job.


Just checked this morning, the cable is live and the spur fuse works and it is connected to a B16 Socket RCD, second from left RCD in my previous photo, I turned all rcds off and connected the bulb as in pic, then turned on one rcd at a time until bulb lit. So its done properly and not to a light circuit.

The cable measures about 11mm width including the white sleeves and seems thick enough not easy to bend so at least 1.5mm and should be safe for 2KW heater? also fitted with 13A fuse to justify this. Though I will use the 1KW option on installation.

Is it safe to assume the cable is coming down from the loft so I can drill any where below or beside where the cable comes out of the wall to fix heater into wall?


Attachments:
IMG_2593.JPG
IMG_2593.JPG [ 58.98 KiB | Viewed 744 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3583
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 759 times
Never safe to assume. Since you are going to be covering the cable with a heater, enlarge the hole a little bit so you can see where the cable runs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:35 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Rorschach wrote:
Never safe to assume. Since you are going to be covering the cable with a heater, enlarge the hole a little bit so you can see where the cable runs.


How about cable detector? Are cheap ones around £5-10 reliable?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3583
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 759 times
yartin wrote:
Rorschach wrote:
Never safe to assume. Since you are going to be covering the cable with a heater, enlarge the hole a little bit so you can see where the cable runs.


How about cable detector? Are cheap ones around £5-10 reliable?


I have never found one that works.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:53 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
I am getting a fan which plugs to wall socket, (it is a bathroom fan IP23, zone 3 but which bathroom has wall socket?!), this mean I will have to cut the cable discard plug and connect to my wall cable and use PVC trunking, which connector should I use which will hide in the trunks?
Unless I will be able to feed my cable inside the casing of the heater, won't know until I see it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24487
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1564 times
Been thanked: 3915 times
I would hazard a guess that the supply runs horizontally from the fcu to where the cable comes out of the wall

Attachment:
yartin.JPG
yartin.JPG [ 48.89 KiB | Viewed 734 times ]


But do check as Rorsasch says.

Unusual to have a bathroom heater that comes with a plug, does it have a pull cord for switching on and off ?

Oh and Zone 3 no longer exists, zones 0, 1 and 2 do exist, outside of that is no longer zone 3, just "outside of the zones"

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:31 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:
I would hazard a guess that the supply runs horizontally from the fcu to where the cable comes out of the wall

Attachment:
The attachment yartin.JPG is no longer available


But do check as Rorsasch says.

Unusual to have a bathroom heater that comes with a plug, does it have a pull cord for switching on and off ?

Oh and Zone 3 no longer exists, zones 0, 1 and 2 do exist, outside of that is no longer zone 3, just "outside of the zones"


Yes it has pull cord, they have UK office so not a grey import, will call them next week, screen photo from the manual attached.


Attachments:
zone 3.png
zone 3.png [ 315.12 KiB | Viewed 731 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:01 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 351
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 28 times
I had a closer look today, pics attached, is it safe to say white cable coming from the ceiling? So I can drill anywhere under and to the left or right safely to fix fan?


Attachments:
IMG_2605.JPG
IMG_2605.JPG [ 40.2 KiB | Viewed 702 times ]
IMG_2604.JPG
IMG_2604.JPG [ 63.69 KiB | Viewed 702 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO