DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:01 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6643
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
Attachment:
bbr.jpg
bbr.jpg [ 21.59 KiB | Viewed 956 times ]


Tuesday just gone the weather was really bad, we had a lightning strike close by which took out my BT Broadband (See devices above)

The top one is a MK4 the bottom one is a MK5, so since I had the MK4 sitting about I swapped them over all fine? No. :shock:
It complained that there was no BB? We had an Openreach engineer come out and I now have broadband.

Some background info.
I have had BT broadband since? I started off with a stingray BB router and as new ones came out and BB was changed so I have had new routers. Now here is the question.

Do you know what the openreach bloke had to do? (I will tell all in due course, this whole post is meant to be helpful)

The reason I ask is, that its something I did not know about then, and I wouldn't want any of you to have the same grief that we did. (No BB for a few days. I will add another post asking about how you would do without BB)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 3:15 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19660
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
ctrl+alt+delete :dunno: :lol:

alter it via the computer like changing frequencies :dunno:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 3:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 396 times
the static blew the poly fuse on the line in - leave them plugged in for a day or so or warm it up and the poly fuses self heal ??

or

it tripped the node module at the local exchange

lightening strikes cause a mass of static and it can wipe nvm and firmware and even reset the unit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6643
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
flash22 wrote:
the static blew the poly fuse on the line in - leave them plugged in for a day or so or warm it up and the poly fuses self heal ??

or

it tripped the node module at the local exchange

lightening strikes cause a mass of static and it can wipe nvm and firmware and even reset the unit


I thought it was the exchange end.

Any one else want to have a guess?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 219 times
Been thanked: 168 times
Fried the splitter?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:24 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
The lower button disappeared, like your thanks button so it wouldn't turn on?

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".



For this message the author BillyGoat has received thanks - 5: Argyll, big-all, gas4you, jape, steviejoiner74
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:32 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19660
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:42 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:29 am
Posts: 698
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 116 times
Put the wire back in the hole?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 8:55 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7534
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 941 times
Been thanked: 1740 times
I'm just going to google the answer.



For this message the author steviejoiner74 has received thanks - 2: Argyll, BillyGoat
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:08 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 396 times
ah it blew the cap/ poly in the nte5 (master socket) ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:13 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 2901
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 337 times
steviejoiner74 wrote:
I'm just going to google the answer.


Love the subliminal dig Stevie :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:44 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6643
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
steviejoiner74 wrote:
I'm just going to google the answer.



I doubt that will tell you (Assuming you really do bother)

The whole point of this post is to help anyone who ends up in the same boat as me. Its a very simple answer but very frustrating if you do not know (Like I didn't)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 12:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7534
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 941 times
Been thanked: 1740 times
someone-else wrote:
steviejoiner74 wrote:
I'm just going to google the answer.



I doubt that will tell you (Assuming you really do bother)

The whole point of this post is to help anyone who ends up in the same boat as me. Its a very simple answer but very frustrating if you do not know (Like I didn't)


Why not just explain the solution to the problem in the first post then?

Nobody else starts a thread with a problem they've had but withholds the solution they've found!

"I've had a real problem unblocking my outside drain,answers on a postcard on how I did it and I'll reveal the answer next week....."
Get my drift?



For this message the author steviejoiner74 has received gratitude : Argyll
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 12:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 2901
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 337 times
It all adds to the excitement Stevie. I was up all night waiting for the answer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 1:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6643
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
steviejoiner74 wrote:
Get my drift?


Yes, fair comment. To that I have to say :salute:

But by way of an explanation I was trying to find out has anyone come across this problem before and solved it?

It would have been easy its easy for me to say (For example) I had a problem with my router support dongle and by re-booting it solved the problem, only for several people to reply that they already knew that. :B

_________________________________________________________________

The answer to the original question is.

A BT router Mk4 does not work directly on fibre optic broad band, where as a BT router Mk5 does.
It seems that the modem part of the MK4 is the problem, and one way round it is to have an external modem. (The other is to get a MK5)
So even though the router is advertised as suitable for broadband from a variety of ISP's it is NOT suitable if you have fibre optic broadband (.............which comes down the same phone line as the other sort of broadband)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO