DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:02 am


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:44 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 2
Location: SE
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, but have a bit of DIY experience, but this question is on behalf of my dad. He has a pretty old Ideal Standard Mexico, which has generally been reliable over the years, only the thermocouple having gone a few times. He's had it serviced regularly from new, and the engineers have said it's worth hanging on to. The control unit has now stopped working - does anyone know if these are still available? Would DIY replacement of this be allowed?
He's got a stone type work surface, so it would be a problem fitting an external unit, if that was possible.
He is an experienced and sensible DIYer, knows his wiring/electronics so is probably capable of replacing the unit.
Cheers.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 46294
Has thanked: 265 times
Been thanked: 3011 times
What model and what do you call the control unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 1:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 2
Location: SE
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
The boiler model is an Ideal Standard Mexico 2 RS80, and by control unit I mean the heating/hot water on-off timer for the boiler. I don't think it has any separate / model number on it (visible from the front anyhow). It's built right into the boiler control panel next to the boiler thermostat. I've heard that there might even still be someone around who repairs them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 1:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 46294
Has thanked: 265 times
Been thanked: 3011 times
41-407-405 is not a valid number, which was what I needed.

You can fit a remote timer/programmer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO