DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:08 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:16 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
After years working on sites and building my business i finally decided to treat myself to the ultimate tool, i bought my festool router. You can imagine my utter disappointment when i discover that it can not be used on site as it is not compatible with generators, not just my generator but several of my work colleagues including some very big ones.

I've had all sorts of routers ranging from makita's to trend and i have never had a problem with these on site.

I contacted Festool as trading standards state that if it is not fit for purpose then i should get a full refund. Well i have spoken to several people at Festool including a rep who i bumped into at a store and even he said yes we have had problems with the routers on site. However i have had no real response from anybody.
I started trying to contact Festool in January and i am still waiting for somebody to respond to my complaint, i've been passed between 3 different people.

So not only are Festool's products a complete let down but their customer service is atrocious too.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:17 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
After years working on sites and building my business i finally decided to treat myself to the ultimate tool, i bought my festool router. You can imagine my utter disappointment when i discover that it can not be used on site as it is not compatible with generators, not just my generator but several of my work colleagues including some very big ones.

I've had all sorts of routers ranging from makita's to trend and i have never had a problem with these on site.

I contacted Festool as trading standards state that if it is not fit for purpose then i should get a full refund. Well i have spoken to several people at Festool including a rep who i bumped into at a store and even he said yes we have had problems with the routers on site. However i have had no real response from anybody.
I started trying to contact Festool in January and i am still waiting for somebody to respond to my complaint, i've been passed between 3 different people.

So not only are Festool's products a complete let down but their customer service is atrocious too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7536
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 941 times
Been thanked: 1741 times
What do you mean doesn't work? Does it simply not run of a generator on 110v?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:39 pm 
Offline
UHM Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:54 pm
Posts: 3474
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 549 times
Just one thread per topic please. (Merged)

And yes, please explain why the tool is not suitable for site work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:13 pm
Posts: 1852
Location: Lowestoft
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 267 times
Just had a quick read through the festool manual and can't find anything saying you can't use it on site

_________________
A meeting is an event where minutes are taken and hours wasted.

The gene pool has no life guard!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7536
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 941 times
Been thanked: 1741 times
I guy I know who uses one has to use a 5kw tranny,dunno about running off a jenny tho.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22593
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1348 times
Been thanked: 3467 times
:dunno: You didn't buy the 240 volt version by mistake ??

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:03 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Forgot to mention I have the 110v one, works fine on my 3kw tranny, but not on my 3.0kw genny. I have heard it is to do with the sign-wave not being clean enough as it has a variable speed on it, so why should I fork out for a different genny just because of the Festool, it's meant to be the best so why cant it work, my other routers that cost half as much worked fine. It doesn't state in the manual that you have to use a specific generator, as for Festool's customer care, I haven't heard a thing! Such a joke from a company that sells ludicrously priced tools.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:13 pm
Posts: 1852
Location: Lowestoft
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 267 times
Festool design an make power tools that are sold and used all around the world, but they are in business to make money like everyone else they are not willing to spend the time or money to test their products with every make of generator that is sold around the world

Not just not cost effective

_________________
A meeting is an event where minutes are taken and hours wasted.

The gene pool has no life guard!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9503
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1676 times
Speed control of AC motors often requires the detection of the 'zero-crossing-point' (ZCP) in order to start the chopping of the AC waveform (and the regulation of the motor speed). The AC waveform from a genny can have harmonics and distortions - the smaller the genny the worse it is PLUS the more devices 'hanging off' a genny the worse it is. Problems detecting the ZCP occur.

It may be that your router will work on a genny that has sufficient power output (say 3-4x the basic requirement of your router) and no-one else running anything - only then can the electronics get a 'clean' zero-crossing-point detection to allow the speed control to work.

It's down to poor design - lack of attention to the circuitry detecting the ZCP.

The Festool stuff is well made but the electronics let it down.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO