DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:43 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 1 times
I need help to wire up the thermostat for an electric underfloor heating mat.

Attachment:
IMG_20180102_151410_1024x768.jpg
IMG_20180102_151410_1024x768.jpg [ 78.96 KiB | Viewed 635 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_20180102_151353_1024x768.jpg
IMG_20180102_151353_1024x768.jpg [ 70.58 KiB | Viewed 635 times ]


From the mat there are two cables:
- thermostat temp sensor (white cable)
- power cable (black cable)

Both of these need to go into a thermostat on the wall.

I want to keep the existing power socket, and run a spur from the power socket to the thermostat.

But I have no idea where to place the thermostat, should it be above the power socket or to the left/right of it?

Should I cut into the wall and use a metal box for flush mount, or should I use a pattress box to surface mount it?

How do I get the white and black cables into the thermostat? Is it possible to run them through the skirting into the wall then up behind the wall to a flush mounted thermostat? Or do I have to use trunking to run them up the wall to a pattress box mounted thermostat?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:11 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 581 times
The thermostat should be about 1.5m from floor level. The switched fused spur that you need to power the UFH can be anywhere, but next to the single socket would be a good choice.

Unless you want to use trunking and surface mounted pattresses then you will have to chisel into the wall and make good.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Is it empty behind the plaster so i can run cable from the existing socket up to the thermostat?

And how to get the two cabkes from the floor into the wall shoyld i go straight through the skirting?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:33 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 581 times
OK so on a closer look I do see that it is a stud wall - the back box for the socket is using plasterboard flanges.

This gives you the option of fitting a normal dryliner back box for both the stat and the switched fused spur (maybe a deep one for the stat). You use the holes that you cut out for the dryliner boxes fit into to fish the cables into place.

The only way past the skirting that I am aware of (and remember that there is a stud behind the skirting) is probably to cut a chase into the skirting and into the plasterboard above the stud until you are into "empty space" and make good with filler.

There is probably a horizontal stud at about 1.2 above the floor. It may be worth considering fitting the stat just below this stud.



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : mameha
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2672
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 542 times
I found the thermostat had to be mounted low as there was not enough cable on the sensor to mount it at standard 1200 mm the sensors do fail, so should be put in a pocket so they can be renewed. You need a sweeping curve or it will jam. That's what happened with mine.

But to be frank useless anyway so does not really matter.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:02 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 1 times
I am thinking to get an electrician to install this thermostat for me because:
a) I am not sure how I can get the cables through the skirting and up the wall
b) I think legally I might need to have this wiring certified by an electrician for when I come to sell the house?

@ericmark: Yes the sensor came with a conduit but it was too big to fit under the laminate, I would have needed to cut 1cm into the base floorboards. Also, I found it difficult/impossible to feed the sensor cable smoothly through the conduit even while doing it freely with my hands never mind while it is fixed into position under the floor and behind a wall with a 90 degree turn to go through. Instead of using conduit I can just remove the scotia and two/three rows of planks if I ever need to replace the sensor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO