DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:59 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: how to power my coolbox
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 4:54 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
i have a connabride coolbox model tristar KB-7224.it runs from a 12v dc plug;unfortunetly i dont own a car.itried ebay for a converter but am told the converter for such a plug,wont power a coolbox.i need to run the coolbox from the mains.any ideas please?


Last edited by sprocket24 on Fri May 11, 2018 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 5:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
:welcomeuhm:

There should be a rating plate on the coolbox, probably on the back. post the details here and we should be able to point you in the right direction...

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sprocket24
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 5:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi,thanks for your reply;the following information is from the instruction manual.rated voltage;AC220-240v 50Hz .the socket must be at least 16A or 10A slow protected
the instructions state that when operating with a battery;60w-5.5 amps.


Last edited by sprocket24 on Fri May 11, 2018 5:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 5:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
sprocket24 wrote:
hi,thaanks for your reply;the following information is from the instruction manual.rated voltage;AC220-240v 50Hz .the socket must be at least 16A or 10A slow protected


That can't be right. If your first post is correct

sprocket24 wrote:
runs from a 12v dc plug


:scratch:

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sprocket24
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 5:53 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
wine~o wrote:
sprocket24 wrote:
hi,thaanks for your reply;the following information is from the instruction manual.rated voltage;AC220-240v 50Hz .the socket must be at least 16A or 10A slow protected


That can't be right. If your first post is correct

sprocket24 wrote:
runs from a 12v dc plug


:scratch:

ive copied the manual directions.wheres your discrepancy please?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 6:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
12 volt Direct current in your first post (from an accessory socket in a car) Vs. 220/240 volt Alternating current from your manual.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sprocket24
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 6:28 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
wine~o wrote:
12 volt Direct current in your first post (from an accessory socket in a car) Vs. 220/240 volt Alternating current from your manual.


thatll be 12v DC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 6:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
sprocket24 wrote:
wine~o wrote:
12 volt Direct current in your first post (from an accessory socket in a car) Vs. 220/240 volt Alternating current from your manual.


thatll be 12v DC


yes but at what current? hence why I asked for the rating plate info. might be inside the coolbox or on the back.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sprocket24
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 7:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7497
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1266 times
wine~o wrote:
yes but at what current?


sprocket24 wrote:
when operating with a battery;60w-5.5 amps.


sprocket24, sorry to tell you but, those cool boxes are clever, but a waste of time. Read the instructions and does it say something like "It will maintain a temperature of * Degrees lower than ambient air temperature"

I had one, and the theory is great, but in practice it only gets cool, not "freezing" and if you have to plug it into the mains, why not buy a small fridge?

If you still want to (waste your money) try it, get the 10A one from here

Its better to have a bigger powersupply than a smaller one, since it will only draw what it needs.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: sprocket24, wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 7:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
sprocket24 wrote:
the instructions state that when operating with a battery;60w-5.5 amps.


Thanks for editing your post after I had replied.

As they say on Dragons Den. I'm out.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : sprocket24
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 8:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7497
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1266 times
wine~o wrote:
Thanks for editing your post after I had replied.

As they say on Dragons Den. I'm out.



NOT GUILTY!

And I am asking what part am I supposed to have edited?

For what its worth, that post took a bit longer than most as I wanted it to link directly to the power supply, not to a drop down menu, so I tried a couple of times before I clicked the SUBMIT button, and besides, if I had edited it after you posted, would you not see the tiny text that says edited by and the time?

Besides, what would be the point of editing it? all I did was copy / paste what you both said then added my opinion.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 9:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 7459
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 316 times
Been thanked: 960 times
someone-else wrote:
wine~o wrote:
Thanks for editing your post after I had replied.

As they say on Dragons Den. I'm out.



NOT GUILTY!

And I am asking what part am I supposed to have edited?

For what its worth, that post took a bit longer than most as I wanted it to link directly to the power supply, not to a drop down menu, so I tried a couple of times before I clicked the SUBMIT button, and besides, if I had edited it after you posted, would you not see the tiny text that says edited by and the time?

Besides, what would be the point of editing it? all I did was copy / paste what you both said then added my opinion.




Chill out SE... I'm pretty sure that Wine O was referring to the OP and not you :thumbleft:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html



For this message the author Razor has received gratitude : someone-else
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 10:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9810
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 332 times
Been thanked: 1742 times
Any AC mains-to12V DC power pack rated at over 8A will work. But 'cool boxes' have very poor insulation (if any) and I've had better performance from a cardboard box lined with thick polystyrene sheets (old packaging) and a couple of freezer blocks (those blue things) stuffed in them. Kept stuff from defrosting (fully) for over 48 hours. Once the stuff defrosted it kept another 2 days before it was getting too warm to be safe.

Cool boxes are a waste of money imho.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 10:57 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7497
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1266 times
kellys_eye wrote:
Cool boxes are a waste of money imho.


:thumbleft:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2018 6:59 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 2911
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 640 times
I quite like my coolbox for summer travel. Handy way of keeping things cold in hotel rooms etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO