DIY Forum


Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest


DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum




It is currently Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:36 am
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:15 am 
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:06 pm
Posts: 278
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 47 times
Sorry for stepping in but can I ask how difficult it is to re-wire a BT Master socket?

I understand that BT own this box and you shouldn't really move it but I could do with moving mine, like this poster in this thread seems to need to maybe do, which would require rewiring it and don't want to pay the high price BT are asking to do it.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:55 pm 
UHM Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:54 pm
Posts: 3583
Has thanked: 171 times
Been thanked: 572 times
Always better to start your own thread. Here is a brand new shiny spanking out of the box thread for you.

For this message the author moderator2 has received gratitude : afmfifgh
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:59 pm 
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7101
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

It only uses 2 wires. (some 3)

Although yes, you are not supposed to move your BT master socket do you really think BT actually know where everyone's master socket is?

The main incoming you connect to terminals 2 & 5 on the fixed part of the socket, and your house wiring goes to 2 & 5 on the removable part of the socket and you may also have a 3rd wire which happens to go to terminal 3.

Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here

Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Similar topics

Time zone: Europe/London

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  




News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy



Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group