DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:24 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:26 am
Posts: 10
Location: hounslow
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi

if someone could please help that would be great.

I was trying to install the following item which i got off Amazon

' 20m Professional Copper RG59 BNC Video and DC Power CCTV Cable '

i slipped off the ladder and pulled the cord instinctivley (rank amateur diy), i sheared off the BNC and power connectors from the part of the cable i was meant to connect to my DVR, i have looked online and seen that replacing the BNC connector is fairly easy, the power part is baffling me, i have exposed the cable to find a exposed copper wire and a white cable, will i be able to repair this cable or not as i have already layed the cable all through my loft.

If its possible can someone please advise if i can rescue my humongous mess up ?

kind regards in advance


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 6:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:26 am
Posts: 10
Location: hounslow
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
this is a picture of the damaged cable


Attachments:
File comment: This is a image of the damaged cable
image2.jpeg
image2.jpeg [ 62.54 KiB | Viewed 499 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 6:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 2779
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 562 times
if you pulled it, you more than likely damaged the cable not just the plugs, imho replace the cable

bnc plugs arent that easy especially if its a compression type, the jack plug will need to be soldered on once you work out what is pos and neg

edit. that's not a great quality cable



For this message the author Bob225 has received gratitude : rkgooner89
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 6:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10021
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 338 times
Been thanked: 1774 times
If it is a single cable with coax and power running up separately then I agree with Bob225 - unless you have experience with cables and the BNC connector then you will never get a satisfactory fix.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:42 pm
Posts: 1732
Location: dan sarf
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 148 times
These are cheap to buy now so just replace.



For this message the author lockie has received gratitude : rkgooner89
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7932
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
I guess you paid around £12+ for it?

new one on ebay less than £10 Click here

You could solder it, but if you knew how to solder it you would not be asking on here.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : rkgooner89
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 7:46 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:26 am
Posts: 10
Location: hounslow
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thank you everyone for your advice,

looks like i will go down the route of buying a new one and then laying it (carefully) it was quite clearly my mess up,

just was confused with what i found under the sheath of the power cable, no red or black wires, just a white wire and exposed copper. :dunno:

cheers to you all :thumbleft:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 2:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 2779
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 562 times
Its a common on cheaper cables they wrap the cable to insulate it then its put wrapped with the coax

The problem is these type of cables suffer from voltage drop and signal degradation even over 5 meters

The proper shotgun cables avoid this issue (2 cables side by side in a figure 8 pattern)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO