DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:53 am


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:40 am
Posts: 12
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 times
I would like to add some wall lights in my living room which will involve running some T&E cable from an existing light switch to an adjacent wall.

I am not sure which is the best way to route the cables, because if I go along the top of the wall (in the 150mm safe zone) then I will have to remove plaster board at each stud to drill a hole for the cable. The studs are 600mm apart so I estimate that there will be about 10 studs to drill through…. but that means I’ll have 10 holes in the plaster board to repair :(

Attachment:
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-18-27.png
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-18-27.png [ 820.63 KiB | Viewed 582 times ]


So I made the first hole in the wall with a 114mm hole saw, the plan was to refit the cut piece of plaster board with a batten behind it for support...

Attachment:
IMG_7591.jpg
IMG_7591.jpg [ 327.04 KiB | Viewed 582 times ]


The first stud I came across has me questioning whether its a load bearing stud (this is an internal wall). Can anyone confirm from the pictures before I attempt drilling holes in the studs ?

Attachment:
IMG_7595.jpg
IMG_7595.jpg [ 409.92 KiB | Viewed 582 times ]


Attachment:
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-24-16.png
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-24-16.png [ 571.41 KiB | Viewed 582 times ]


Attachment:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 1.2 MiB | Viewed 582 times ]


The picture below is the plan for the ground floor - note that this plan is for the opposite handed layout.

Attachment:
Untitled2.png
Untitled2.png [ 1.45 MiB | Viewed 582 times ]


I bought an angled adaptor to drill into the studs, but unfortunately the drill bit is so long it won't fit in the hole !

Attachment:
Monosnap 2019-01-07 19-45-17.png
Monosnap 2019-01-07 19-45-17.png [ 1.24 MiB | Viewed 575 times ]


I’m now wondering if running the cable under the floor boards in the room above might be an easier option ? The problem is the flooring consists of large pieces of chipboard. I have come across floor board hole saw kits which rebate the chipboard and provide blanking plates to cover the hole. But I would still need to make a hole every 600mm in order to drill holes through the ceiling joist, at least on the external wall side (the joists run in parallel with the internal wall so hopefully there will be no obstruction?).

The chipboard flooring above the living room can be seen in the picture below. This picture was taken before I moved into the property, the room now has carpet and furniture.

Attachment:
IMG_7040.JPG
IMG_7040.JPG [ 147.83 KiB | Viewed 582 times ]


Last edited by skyrat on Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8498
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1446 times
Oh the joys of wanting new lights. Why are you taking the cable to the switch? have you looked behind it ?

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : skyrat
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:57 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:40 am
Posts: 12
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 times
someone-else wrote:
Oh the joys of wanting new lights. Why are you taking the cable to the switch? have you looked behind it ?


Yep, electrically its very simple.... its routing the cable itself thats the difficult and tedious task.

I have looked behind the switch, I intend to power and control the lights from this switch.

This is the existing wiring....

Attachment:
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-54-19.png
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-54-19.png [ 75.93 KiB | Viewed 568 times ]


This is what I plan to do....

Attachment:
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-54-48.png
Lighting.pptx 2019-01-07 19-54-48.png [ 109.22 KiB | Viewed 568 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:28 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8498
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1446 times
Ok, its just that most switches do not have a neutral. Wouldn't want to see you go to all that effort to find no neutral.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO