DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:16 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi all, I've received a new timer based photocell and wondered if someone could help me with the wiring?

The current dusk till dawn has black, brown, grey and earth wires and this is what I will be attaching. Can someone please explain how I should wire this?


Attachments:
IMG_4837.JPG
IMG_4837.JPG [ 1.16 MiB | Viewed 447 times ]

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6561
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
It depends on how who ever wired the current sensor chose to wire it.

Can you look at the current sensor and see what wire does what.
Pictures would also help.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:59 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22433
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1339 times
Been thanked: 3404 times
Your new switch./pir has a permanent live/neutral in and is switched by the PIR; I can only imagine that the old unit was an integrated unit that needed a permanent live/neutral and switched live.

unless you are comfortable using a multimeter on 230V live then I would suggest getting an Electrician in.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks very much, I do have a meter thats been very rarely used so if you have the patience to explain what I need to do I will gladly follow. I will also provide photos of what I can see tomorrow morning when light.

There is no switch controlling the light.

Many thanks,

Devs.

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6561
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
The "thing" with a multi meter and mains is, get it wrong and ............... (That is looking at the worst case scenario)
I would suggest you learn how to use it first, learn how to check for continuity, and voltage of batteries etc (see the university of Youtube)

In regard to your existing sensor, yes, take and post a many clear pictures as you can.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Okay fair comment, I'll take another look in the morning and provide as much info as I can. Many thanks.

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6561
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
:thumbleft:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Okay I've just had another look at this and below you will see how the existing wires were connected and how I have connected them into the new unit.

As far as I can tell this is correct and have masked off the sensor to try and trigger the light but it didn't work :(

Any suggestions chaps?

Thanks.

Attachment:
IMG_4867.JPG
IMG_4867.JPG [ 714.96 KiB | Viewed 341 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_4865.JPG
IMG_4865.JPG [ 617.29 KiB | Viewed 341 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_4866.JPG
IMG_4866.JPG [ 641.81 KiB | Viewed 341 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_4864.JPG
IMG_4864.JPG [ 701.34 KiB | Viewed 341 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_4869.JPG
IMG_4869.JPG [ 589.62 KiB | Viewed 341 times ]

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:07 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22433
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1339 times
Been thanked: 3404 times
New unit has input live and neutral to the outer two connections as per the instructions. a separate cable (L/N) from the middle pair to the light.

Just guessing (as you have done) will end in tears...

Can you tell where the cable to the old light comes from ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6561
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
Wine~O, is it me or do you only see 1 cable at: The "sensor", and another at the "off white" box?

Where is the supply coming from? there is some thing missing.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:57 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22433
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1339 times
Been thanked: 3404 times
someone-else wrote:
Wine~O, is it me or do you only see 1 cable at: The "sensor", and another at the "off white" box?

Where is the supply coming from? there is some thing missing.


I'm reading it as the new white box (pic 3 above) has a load and supply to the lamp.

The old lamp is not compatible as it has an inbuilt sensor.??.. I know what I mean difficult to explain via a few photo's and a forum.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Evening. I just wanted to update. The new unit is wired up and live per the image that I posted previously.

The light has illuminated and has been for sometime. I was hoping that it would turn off as I was sure that I set it to 1hr for testing..

I think my next job is to open the light up and see how its wired..

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:03 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22433
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1339 times
Been thanked: 3404 times
devs wrote:
Evening. I just wanted to update. The new unit is wired up and live per the image that I posted previously.

The light has illuminated and has been for sometime. I was hoping that it would turn off as I was sure that I set it to 1hr for testing..

I think my next job is to open the light up and see how its wired..


Please STOP. DO NOT PASS GO. (monopoly jest) you may well have already damaged the new sensor.

GET AN ELECTRICIAN IN.

There is only so much that can be done via a forum.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : devs
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6561
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
I was also wondering (in respect of the pictures)
is this

Attachment:
1.JPG
1.JPG [ 701.34 KiB | Viewed 208 times ]


One of

Image

and are you replacing it with

Attachment:
2.JPG
2.JPG [ 309.62 KiB | Viewed 208 times ]

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:37 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi, yes that's correct..

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO