DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:16 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
...I turned my attention to the light and what I thought was a wire blank turns out to be a photocell! Therefor the unit that I have replaced on the wall must not have anything to do with the light! (I have no idea what it does, can only assume that its an over ride for some other outside lights that are controlled via a timer.)

Back to my initial problem, how can 'I' make this light only stay on for a period of time?

Attachment:
IMG_4877.JPG
IMG_4877.JPG [ 539.57 KiB | Viewed 70 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_4882.JPG
IMG_4882.JPG [ 733.15 KiB | Viewed 70 times ]

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6558
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
I see the light fitting does indeed have what looks like a basic light sensor.
Suppose the other sensor you changed does control this light, think what it will do. Supply power to it, the light comes on, the light sensor says its light out side and turn off the light.

So I have to ask, what happens if you cover the light's light sensor? (use dark tape, or a piece of card stuck over it)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:49 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 179
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Yes it does, it has one of these fitted: http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/lighting- ... s/4721492/

I'm seeing if I can switch this out with an alternative but don't think it exists :(

When I cover the sensor the light comes on.

The other wall sensor that I removed is an alternative method for the timer that controls some other outdoor lights.

_________________
--
Loves to ask questions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO