DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:28 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:26 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Worcestershire
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Can someone please help with a problem rewiring a ceiling rose after decorating.

My son removed a ceiling rose to paint but when it came to refit the rose and light couldn't remember how it was wired. I thought this would be easy to solve but upon looking I found the light is wired as shown in the file I uploaded. The cable from the switch has two red wires, neither of which is marked as the switched live wire. Is there a way of finding out which of these red wires is the switched iive?

Thank you for any help with this.


Attachments:
Ceiling-rose-last-old-colours.jpg
Ceiling-rose-last-old-colours.jpg [ 39.15 KiB | Viewed 345 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:17 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6427
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1066 times
Without testing it, no.

BUT, if you can identify it at the rose, (The only cable with two reds) it doesn't matter which red is live and which red is switched live.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 481 times
someone-else wrote:
Without testing it, no.

BUT, if you can identify it at the rose, (The only cable with two reds) it doesn't matter which red is live and which red is switched live.


Correct.

Just to add a little more info.

There is no requirement to mark/oversleeve the switched live when using a red red cored cable as you would when using red and black cored T&E. The mark/sleeving is not to tell you it is a switched live but to tell you that it is a live. When people say you have to mark the switched live they are of course talking about using red black cored cables and not red red cored cables.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1874
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 376 times
With the electric off a simple continuity test will find the switch live as its only a loop with a switch



For this message the author flash22 has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:44 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6427
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1066 times
OnlyMe wrote:
someone-else wrote:
Without testing it, no.

BUT, if you can identify it at the rose, (The only cable with two reds) it doesn't matter which red is live and which red is switched live.


Correct.



Thanks dad :lol:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:56 am
Posts: 233
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 56 times
It would be better to know which was the permanent live at the switch end though, and connect it to the com terminal rather than l1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:05 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 133
Has thanked: 457 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Did you resolve doesn't matter which way you get two red wires as long as loop is not wired into neutral or earth you can test and find out live from 3 = common and 2 = live 1

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO